Minutes of a Annual General Meeting Women's Association of Memorial University of Newfoundland Saturday, April 25, 2015 Junior Common Room, R. Gushue Hall Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John's, NL

Thirty-eight members were present.

The meeting was called to order at 1:05 pm. By the Chair, Kathy Simonsen, who welcomed the members.

- 1. Approval of the Agenda moved by Sharon Buehler, seconded by Bev Gardner; all in favour.
- 2. Approval of the Minutes of the AGM April 26, 2014 Moved by Karen Lippold, seconded by Brenda Burness; all in favour with a correction that Mary Chalker's name had been left off the slate of officers.
- 3. Business Arising:

Mary Chalker reported that although a motion had been made to move \$1,000 from the current account to the Scholarship Fund, in fact, \$2,500 was moved.

- 4. Reports:
  - (a) President's Report

Kathy Simonsen thanked all members for a good year. Our membership numbers are keeping steady. Jo Shawyer's and Cynthia Boyd's talks at the Fall Potluck and the Spring Talk respectively were very informative and enjoyed by all who attended. The January Coffee morning attendance was down due to a snowstorm, however, our scholarship winners were in attendance. The Association funds 8 students. This year members contributed, in memory of members lost, an additional \$2,425 to the Scholarship Fund. The Association lost three long-standing members this year. We will always remember Susan Jackson, Leila Clase and Doreen Ross who made significant contributions over the years.

Kathy wanted to thank the Executive – especially the Social Convenors who make our special events possible and to outgoing Executive members: Mary Chalker (Treasurer), Joan Fuller (Secretary) and Patricia Whittle (Newsletter). Kathy Simonsen, Dorothy Milne, Susan Goold and the Convenors Karen Lippold, Brenda Burness and Ingrid Pardoe will remain on the Executive.

(b) Membership Secretary's Report:

Susan Goold reported that there are presently 85 members. Membership fluctuates between 80 and 86 members with most new members joining via the special interest groups.

(c) Treasurer's Report:

Mary Chalker circulated the Treasurer's Report. It was noted that the Fall meeting is a general business meeting and that any motions made should be recorded and circulated, such as with the motion to transfer funds from the current account to the Scholarship Fund, that was made at the last Fall meeting.

A motion to accept the Treasurer's report with the correction that the "year to data" should read "year to date" was made by Bev Gardner, seconded by Sharon Buehler; all in favour. Motion carried.

(d) Newsletter Editor's Report:

A new Editor is needed. The next Newsletter will be issued at the end of the summer.

- (e) Scholarship Committee: Rebecca Dutton from Alumni Affairs & Development reported and answered questions.
- (f) Special Interest Groups:
  Olga Broomfield-Richards and Tonya Bassler reported that the new interest group visiting Arts and Crafts exhibits is flourishing.
  Deborah Rehner reported that the Electronic Toys group meets every 2<sup>nd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> Thursday at the Children's Library, Arts and Culture Centre.
- 5. New Business:
  - (a) Change to the Constitution: Mary Chalker, Treasurer, moved that the Fiscal Year dates be changed to reflect the Associations activities – to change the dates from April 1-March 31 to September 1-August 31. This was seconded by Ingrid Pardoe; all in favour. Motion carried.
  - (b) There was a call from the floor that Kathy Simonsen receive a thank you for all her hard work as President.
- 6. Election of Officers for 2105-2016:

Jean Guthrie of the Nominating Committee reported that the current vacant positions are President to which Kathy Simonsen agreed to continue in the position; also Newsletter Editor. Dorothy Milne suggested that she would be willing to be part of a team as currently occurs with the website team. Susan Goold and Kjellerun Hestekin also volunteered. A note should be sent to the general membership requesting that if others are interested they should contact Dorothy Milne. It is suggested that a template for the Newsletter be made. Content would be forwarded by others. With three calls from the floor for nominations the motion for the slate of officers was carried. The Executive for 2015-2016 is:

President	-	Kathy Simonsen
Vice-President	-	Dorothy Milne
Past President	-	Julia Mathieson
Membership Secretary	-	Susan Goold
Treasurer	-	Susan Murdey
Secretary	-	Bev Gardner
Newsletter Team	-	Dorothy Milne, Susan Goold, Kjellerun Hestekin
Social Convenors	-	Karen Lippold, Brenda Burness, Ingrid Pardoe

7. Distinguished Service Pin:

Karen Lippold was honoured with the Distinguished Service Pin for her many years of service including President for 2 years and as Social Convenor for the past few years.

## 8. Any Other Business:

Tonya Bassler wished to thank everyone for their contributions to the Campus Food Bank, and to remind members of the winter clothing drive (hats, mitts, scarves, etc) by the Bridges to Hope.

## 9. Adjournment:

A motion to adjourn was made by Pearl Herbert. The meeting was adjourned at 2:10 pm.

Respectfully Submitted by, Joan Fuller Secretary