CONSTITUTION OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL OF THE SCHOOL OF SOCIAL WORK MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND (May 15, 2013)

1. Functions

The functions of the Academic Council of the School of Social Work ("the Academic Council" and "the School") shall be:

- a. to approve for recommendation to the Senate all regulations, courses and programs of study of the School; and,
- b. to discuss and make recommendations upon any other matters affecting the School.

2. Membership

The membership of the Academic Council shall be:

- a. the Dean of the School, the Associate Deans of the School, the Senior Administrative Officer (SAO), Student Services Coordinators, Field Education Coordinators; all persons holding full-time appointments as either professors, associate professors, assistant professors, lecturers, or instructors who teach in the School;
- b. the President and Vice-Chancellor, the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), the University Registrar or delegate, the University Librarian or delegate, and a representative from Distance Education, Learning and Teaching Support (DELTS);
- c. a minimum of two (2) graduate students, preferably, one each of MSW and PhD, and two (2) undergraduate student representatives with a total maximum of 20% of the membership of category (a);
- d. one (1) representative, the Executive Director or delegate, from the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Social Workers (NLASW);
- e. one (1) representative, the Chair or delegate, from the Field Instructor's Association;
- f. others whom the Academic Council may decide to admit;
- g. membership to be affirmed by the Dean annually prior to first meeting of the Academic Council of the Academic Year.

3. Committees

- a. the Academic Council shall establish standing committees as it deems appropriate and shall determine the terms of reference of such standing committees;
- b. the Academic Council may establish *ad hoc* committees and may delegate to such committees whatever functions it deems appropriate;
- c. the Chair and members of committees shall be elected by the Academic Council.

4. Officers

The Officers of the Academic Council shall be:

- a. the Dean as Chair;
- b. the Associate Deans as Vice-Chairs;
- c. a secretary appointed by the Dean (non-voting);
- d. a Nominating Officer shall be elected from Membership, Section 2 (a) by the Academic Council, for a term of two years;
 - i. an alternate shall be elected by the Academic Council from Membership, Section 2 (a), to serve in the case of illness, resignation, or other absence of the Nominating Officer. The alternate shall also witness the counting of ballots and validate election results.
 - the Nominating Officer shall receive nominations and provide a slate of candidates to fill elected positions on committees within the School of Social Work and on committees requiring a School of Social Work representative.

5. Meetings

- a. meetings of the Academic Council shall be held as stated in the by-laws;
- b. 50% + 1 of the voting members of the Academic Council shall constitute a quorum;
- c. teleconference/online participants are counted in quorum;
- d. members unable to be present may vote by proxy submitted to the secretary in writing, or by e-mail, prior to the meeting.

6. By-Laws

By-laws may be drawn up and amended by a two-thirds majority of those voting provided that the proposed by-law or amendment has been submitted in writing and circulated to all members not less than 10 calendar days prior to the meeting of the Academic Council.

7. Amendments to the Constitution

Recommendations for amendments to the Constitution shall be by a two-thirds majority of those voting provided that notice of the proposed amendment has been given at the previous regular meeting of the Academic Council and that the proposed amendment has been submitted in writing and circulated to all members not less than 14 calendar days prior to the meeting of the Academic Council.