Office of the Registrar
School of Graduate Studies (2022/2023)
44 Regulations Governing the Degree of Doctor of Psychology

The Doctor of Psychology (Psy.D.) degree in clinical psychology is offered by the Department of Psychology in partnership with the University Counselling Centre. This program is designed to train professional psychologists at the doctoral level within a scholar-practitioner orientation to provide a variety of psychological services to individuals, families and communities. The program was designed to meet all of the requirements for registration with the Newfoundland and Labrador Psychology Board and to meet the accreditation standards of the Canadian Psychological Association.

44.1 Administration
  1. The Psy.D. Program Director, who must be a registered Psychologist and hold a full-time faculty position in the Department of Psychology at Memorial University of Newfoundland, is appointed by the Head of the Department of Psychology following a consultative process that includes the faculty most directly associated with the Psy.D. program.

  2. The Psy.D. Administrative Committee consists of the Director and representatives from academic units involved in the program, Eastern Health, the Association of Psychology in Newfoundland and Labrador and the Psy.D. student body. The Head of the Department of Psychology, on the recommendation of the Director, appoints Committee members. The student representative is elected by the Psy.D. students.

  3. The Psy.D. Administrative Committee is chaired by the Director, and is the main body for developing and monitoring policy, procedures, and program content. The administrative committee makes recommendations concerning admission and termination, financial support, thesis and comprehensive committees, and thesis topics and examiners. The Committee oversees individual student programs of study and monitors their annual progress.