Office of the Registrar
General Information (2020/2021)
5 University Diary for the Academic Year 2020-2021

June 1, 2020, Monday

Registration begins for Residents

July 14, 2020, Tuesday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Fall semester 2020

August 3, 2020, Monday

Deadline for registration and fee payment for Residents

Registration begins for graduate students, Fall semester 2020

September 7, 2020, Monday

Labour Day, no lectures

September 9, 2020, Wednesday

Deadline for fees payment Fall semester

Lectures begin, Fall semester

September 16, 2020, Wednesday

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Spring semester (Intersession, Summer session and 14-week) 2020

September 23, 2020, Wednesday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Fall semester

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 100% refund of tuition fees, Payment 1

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester

September 30, 2020, Wednesday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Fall semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall semester

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 50% refund of tuition fees, Payment 2

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester

October 7, 2020, Wednesday

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 25% refund of tuition fees, Payment 1. No tuition fees are refunded for withdrawing from a Phase after this date.

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date.

  • October 12, 2020, Monday

Fall semester break begins at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses

Thanksgiving Day, no lectures

  • October 14, 2020, Wednesday

Lectures resume at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses

October 15, 2020, Thursday

Lectures will follow the Tuesday schedule on this day only

October 16, 2020, Friday

Lectures will follow the Monday schedule on this day only

October 28, 2020, Wednesday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Fall semester

November 4, 2020, Wednesday

Last day for undergraduate students and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall semester

November 9, 2020, Monday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Winter semester 2021

November 11, 2020, Wednesday

Remembrance Day holiday, no lectures

November 18, 2020, Wednesday

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Fall semester

November 30, 2020, Monday

Registration begins for graduate students, Winter semester 2021

December 4, 2020, Friday

Lectures end, Fall semester

December 9, 2020, Wednesday

Examinations begin, Fall semester

December 18, 2020, Friday

Examinations end, Fall semester

January 6, 2021, Wednesday

Deadline for fees payment, including for undergraduate Medical students, Winter semester

Lectures begin, Winter semester

January 13, 2021, Wednesday

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Fall semester 2020

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 2021. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit.

January 20, 2021, Wednesday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Winter semester

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 100% refund of tuition fees, Payment 2

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester

January 27, 2021, Wednesday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Winter semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter semester

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 50% refund of tuition fees, Payment 2

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester

February 3, 2021, Wednesday

Last day for Medical students to withdraw from a Phase and receive 25% refund of tuition fees, Payment 2. No tuition fees are refunded for withdrawing from a Phase after this date.

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date.

  • February 22 to February 26, 2021
  • Monday to Friday
  • Winter semester break begins at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses

February 24, 2021, Wednesday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Winter semester

March 1, 2021, Monday

Lectures resume at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses

March 3, 2021, Wednesday

Last date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter semester

March 17, 2021, Wednesday

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Winter semester

March 22, 2021, Monday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer session) 2021

April 2, 2021, Friday

Good Friday, no classes

April 9, 2021, Friday

Lectures end, Winter semester

April 12, 2021, Monday

Registration begins for graduate students, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer session) 2021

April 14, 2021, Wednesday

Examinations begin, Winter semester

April 23, 2021, Friday

Examinations end, Winter semester

May 10, 2021, Monday

Deadline for fees payment, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer session)

Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring semester

May 17, 2021, Monday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Intersession

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Winter semester 2021

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 20, 2021, Thursday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 24, 2021, Monday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date.

May 31, 2021, Monday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Spring semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring any liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

June 7, 2021, Monday

Last date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring semester courses dropped after this date.

June 18, 2021, Friday

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 2021. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit.

Lectures end, Intersession

June 21, 2021, Monday

Examinations begin, Intersession

Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring semester

June 23, 2021, Wednesday

Examination end, Intersession

June 24, 2021, Thursday

Lectures resume, 14-week Spring semester

June 28, 2021, Monday

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Spring semester

Lectures begin for Summer session

July 1, 2021, Thursday

Memorial Day holiday, no lectures

July 5, 2021, Monday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Summer session

Last date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer session

July 8, 2021, Thursday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer session

July 12, 2021, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer session courses dropped after this date.

July 19, 2021, Monday

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Spring semester

July 26, 2021, Monday

Last date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer session

August 6, 2021, Friday

Lectures end, 14-week Spring semester

August 7, 2021, Saturday

Lectures end, Summer session. Lectures will follow the Thursday schedule on this day only.

August 9, 2021, Monday

Examinations begin, 14-week Spring semester and Summer session

August 11, 2021, Wednesday

Examinations end, Summer session

August 14, 2021, Saturday

Examinations end, 14-week Spring semester