

LAW FOUNDATION 2011/2012 LEGAL RESEARCH AWARDS FOR STUDENTS OF MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY

The Law Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador annually offers Legal Research Awards valued at \$500.00 each to students at Memorial University. The Awards are for outstanding research papers on one or more legal issues, or topics treated in a legal context.



Sixteenth Annual Legal Research Awards are, standing (l-r): Jeffrey P. Benson, Q.C., Chair, Law Foundation, Dr. Gary Kachanoski, President and Vice-Chancellor, Memorial University, The Hon. J. Derek Green, Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador, The Hon. David B. Orsborn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, Trial Division, The Hon. D. Mark Pike, Chief Judge, Provincial Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, and Robert P. Johnston, Chief of Police, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary; seated (l-r): Christopher P. Curran, Q.C., Chair, Selection Committee, Kirk Luther, Zachary Keeping and Jessica Dawe, Awards recipients, and Justin S.C. Mellor, LL.M., member, Selection Committee.

Pictured at luncheon presentation at R. Gushue Hall, Memorial University of 2011/2012

Dr. John A. Scott, Professor, is the third member of the Legal Research Awards Selection Committee.

The 2011/2012 Legal Research Awards recipients, in alphabetical order by Department with all awards having equal standing, are:

School of Graduate Studies Paper:

Kirk Luther, Department of Psychology

Title: Searching for the Pinocchio Effect: An Analysis of the SCAN Technique Course: Psychology 6400

Lecturer: Dr. Ken Fowler

Undergraduate Papers:

Zachary Keeping, Faculty of Arts

Title: Doubting Reasonable Doubt: Implications of Instructing Juries Course: Law and Society 4000

Lecturer: Dr. John Hoben

Lecturer. Dr. John Hobe.

Jessica Dawe, Department of Political Science Title: Is there a Right to Health Care in C

Title: Is there a Right to Health Care in Canada? The Effect of Supreme Court Cases

Eldridge, Auton, and Chaoulli Political Science 3820

Course: Political Science 3820 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Lee English, Department of Political Science

Title: Constitutional Limits of Provincial Administrative Penalties as a Means of

Deterring Impaired Driving

Course: Political Science 3820 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Justin Hewitt, Department of Political Science

Title: A Saving Grace for Federalism: The Supreme Court of Canada's Reference Re

Securities Regulation Political Science 3820

Course: Political Science 3820 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Lea Moulton, Department of Political Science

Title: Mandatory Minimum Sentences: A Legal Evaluation of Effects in the Context of

the Safe Streets and Communities Act Political Science 3620

Course: Political Science 3620 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Lisa Penney, Faculty of Science

Title: Criminal Investigations: Money Laundering Course: Law and Society 3400

Lecturer: Dr. Albert Jones

E-mail lawfoundationnl@nf.aibn.com.

Queen Elizabeth II Library received \$500.00 from the Law Foundation for the purchase of research materials and resources. Total Awards \$4,000.00

The current 2012/2013 Seventeenth Annual Legal Research Awards Competition (three semesters: Spring/Summer, Fall, 2012, Winter, 2013) deadline for submittal by University

Departments of students' legal research papers is May 21, 2013.

Further information is available from: Law Foundation, 49-55 Elizabeth Avenue,

P.O. Box 5907, St. John's, NL A1C 5X4 Telephone (709) 754-4424, Fax 754-4320,

The Law Foundation, established in February, 1980, provides grants to advance public understanding of the law and access to legal services. Its objects for funding are legal education, legal research, law reform, legal aid, legal referral service, law libraries and law scholarships.

6085834