

LAW FOUNDATION 2010/2011 LEGAL RESEARCH AWARDS FOR STUDENTS OF MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY

The Law Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador annually offers Legal Research Awards valued at \$500.00 each to students at Memorial University. The Awards are for outstanding research papers on one or more legal issues, or topics treated in a legal context.



Pictured at luncheon presentation at R. Gushue Hall, Memorial University of 2010/2011 Fifteenth Annual Legal Research Awards are, standing (l-r): Christopher P. Curran, Q.C., Chair, Selection Committee, Jeffrey P. Benson, Q.C., Chair, Law Foundation, Dr. David Wardlaw, Provost and Vice-President (Academic) and Pro Vice-Chancellor, Memorial University, Robert E. Simmonds, Q.C., Chair, Board of Regents, The Hon. J. Derek Green, Chief Justice of Newfoundland and Labrador, The Hon. David B. Orsborn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, Trial Division, The Hon. D. Mark Pike, Chief Judge, Provincial Court of Newfoundland and Labrador, and Robert P. Johnston, Chief of Police, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary; seated (l-r): Dr. John A. Scott, member, Selection Committee, Laurie Jones, Catherine Quinlan and Kirk Luther, Awards recipients, and Justin S.C. Mellor, LL.M., member, Selection Committee.

The 2010/2011 Legal Research Awards recipients, in alphabetical order by Department with all awards having equal standing, are:

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES PAPERS:

Laurie Jones,

Faculty of Business Administration
Title: Criminal Convictions, Offender
Employability, and the Newfoundland
and Labrador Human Rights Act, 2010:
Implications for Labour Arbitration and
Judicial Interpretation
Course: Business 9013
Lecturer: Lionel G. Clarke, LL.B.

UNDERGRADUATE PAPERS:

Natalie Gilliard, Faculty of Arts

Title: Re-Conceptualizing Liberty: The Case for Reasonable Limits on Hate Speech and Pornography

Course: Political Science 3820

Course: Political Science 3820 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Harrison Luke McCain, Faculty of Arts

Title: Terrorism, War, and International

Criminal Law

Course: Political Science 3210 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Katie Phillips, Faculty of Arts

Title: Recognizing Rights, Not Race: Racial Profiling and the Charter Course: Law and Society 4000 Lecturer: Dr. John Hoben

Catherine Quinlan, Faculty of Arts

Title: Children at War: Mechanisms for Protection Cause More Harm Than Good Course: Political Science 3210 Lecturer: Francis P. O'Brien, LL.M.

Rosemary Thorne, Faculty of Arts

Title: Identity Crime in Canada: Unique Challenges

Course: Law and Society 3400 Lecturer: Dr. Albert Jones

Kirk Luther, Faculty of Science

Title: Violent Crime Linkage Analysis System: A Test of Inter-Rater Reliability Course: Psychology 499A and 499B

Lecturer: Dr. Brent Snool

Queen Elizabeth II Library received \$500.00 from the Law Foundation for the purchase of research materials and resources. Total Awards \$4,000.00

The current 2011/2012 Sixteenth Annual Legal Research Awards Competition (three semesters: Spring/Summer, Fall, 2011, Winter, 2012) deadline for submittal by University Departments of students' legal research papers is May 22, 2012.

Further information is available from: Law Foundation, 49-55 Elizabeth Avenue, P.O. Box 5907, St. John's, NL A1C 5X4
Telephone (709) 754-4424, Fax 754-4320, E-mail lawfoundationnl@nf.aibn.com

The Law Foundation, established in February, 1980, provides grants to advance public understanding of the law and access to legal services. Its objects for funding are legal education, legal research, law reform, legal aid, legal referral service, law libraries and law scholarships.