President's Report 1996-1997


Members of the Board of Regents served during the fiscal year April 1, 1996 to March 31, 1997

Janet Gardiner, Chair

Jeannie French, Vice-chair

Eleanor Bennett, Secretary

Members appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council

Gerald Bishop, St. John's

Dr. Chesley Blackwood, St. John's

Aubrey Bonnell, Q.C., St. John's

Mary Ennis, Stephenville

Peter Fenwick, Bay St. George

Gudrid Hutchings, Corner Brook

Barbara Lewis, St. John's

Dr. Robert McLeod, Corner Brook

George Neal, Toronto

Frankie O'Neill, St. John's

David Power, Bay Roberts

Alexander Roche, St. John's

Grace Stapleton, Manuels

Betty Williams, St. John's

Melvin Woodward, Happy Valley

Members elected by the Alumni Association

Alick Andrews, Ottawa

David Andrews, Harbour Grace

Trudi Brake, St. John's

William Dilny, St. John's

Frederick Durant, St. John's

Christopher Facey, St. John's

Sean Hanrahan, St. John's

Stephen Power, Toronto

Raymond Rose, Chamberlains

Robert Stack, St. John's

Heather Tulk, Mt. Pearl

Maureen Woodrow, Ottawa

Students appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council

Mr. Cyril Bonia, St. John's

Mr. Edmund Kennedy, Mt. Pearl

Mr. Robert Mendoza, St. John's

Ms. Amy Wyse, St. John's


Dr. John Crosbie, Chancellor

Dr. Arthur May, president and vice-chancellor

Dr. Jaap Tuinman, Vice-president (academic) and pro vice-chancellor