# Memorial University of Newfoundland Pensioners' Association Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Lester's Farm Chalet Thursday June 8, 2017

### 1. Opening Remarks

Grant Gardner, MUNPA President, chaired the meeting, welcoming members to the AGM.

## 2. Presentation by the Director of Internationalization

Ms. Sonja Knutson, Memorial's Director of Internationalization, provided a brief overview of the Scholars-at-Risk program and the University's activities in its support. She mentioned a number of ways in which retirees might become engaged.

## 3. Agenda for this Meeting

The Agenda was approved by consensus.

#### 4. Minutes of the Previous AGM

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting of June 9, 2016 were approved by consensus.

## 5. President's Report

Grant Gardner reviewed the highlights of the previously circulated President's Report, now available on the MUNPA Website. He noted in particular the increase in numbers of events and activities that had been arranged for members by the Programme Committee, commending Committee members for their efforts and encouraging members to suggest additional ideas for activities.

One of these events, the annual MUNPA Tribute Awards presentation was delayed for logistical reasons. The re-scheduled Awards presentation was hosted by President Kachanoski in May. Members are encouraged to consider nominating a deserving retiree for a MUNPA Award. Nomination information is on the MUNPA website.

Other highlights in the President's review of the year included the signing of a renewed MOU between MUNPA and the University, to be in place for five years. In addition, the Board has kept a close watch on discussions taking place during the year regarding the University pension fund. A report from the MUNPA representative on the MUN Pension Committee is included with the documentation available to members at this AGM.

#### 6. Treasurer's Report

Cynthia Whelan presented the Treasurer's Report, referring to the previously circulated financial documents and the proposed Budget for 2017/2018. Discussion took place related to the anticipated increase in the number of MUNPA members over the next several years and the development of a Board policy related to the associated growth in revenues. Further information is contained in the President's Report.

It was moved by Harold Squires and seconded by Patrick Tyler that the report be accepted. Carried

The proposed budget for 2017/2018 was presented. It was moved by David Thompson and seconded by Karyn Butler that the budget be approved. <u>Carried</u>

## 7. Committee Reports

The reports from the various MUNPA committees were available prior to the meeting. Grant Gardner presented each report in turn and thanked the committees for their work during the year.

It was moved by Harold Squires and seconded by Michael Collins that the committee reports be received. <u>Carried</u>

#### **8.** Nominations Committee

Grant Gardner acted on behalf of the Chair of the Nominations Committee, Bob Lucas, who was unable to attend the AGM. Dr. Gardner first reminded members of the by-laws related to elections to the Board, then presented the report for consideration.

The following persons were nominated by the Committee, and have agreed to serve as officers and directors for the 2017-18 year:

#### **Officers**:

- President Jane Foltz (Computer Science/Office of the VP Academic; joined the Board in 2015)
- Past President, Grant Gardner (Biology, Office of the VP Academic; joined the Board in 2014) (*ex officio* position)
- Vice-President, Steve Wolinetz (Political Science; joined the Board in 2015)
- Secretary, David Thompson (Philosophy; joined the Board in 2015)
- Treasurer, Cynthia Whelan (Facilities Management; joined the Board in 2015)

#### **Directors**:

- Lois Bateman (Biology, Grenfell Campus; joined the Board in 2015)
- Karyn Butler (Geography; joined the Board in 2015)
- Joe Byrne (Registrar's Office; joined the Board in 2015)
- Chris Dennis (Library; not currently a Board member)
- Donna Jackman (Biochemistry; not currently a Board member)

- Audrey Power (Information Technology Services; not currently a Board member)
- Brian Power (Information Technology Services; not currently a Board member)
- Sheila Singleton (Office of the Registrar; not currently a Board member)
- Anne Sinnott (Biochemistry; joined the Board in 2016)
- Patrick Tyler (Marketing and Communications; joined the Board in 2015)

There were no further nominations from the floor. All those nominated were declared elected to the Board by acclamation. Dr. Gardner thanked the retiring Board members for their service.

### 9. Members' Forum

No issues were raised.

## 10. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned by consensus.

Peter Fisher, Secretary