Managing user permissions

User permissions are granted based on the type of work you will be doing on your website. Local administrators have full access to websites, while regular users have limited access and primarily manage specific pages. 

New users must attend a training session in order to access Site Builder. See here for the schedule of Site Builder training events. Once training is completed, users can be added to the system by web content services and will be able to: 


Am I a local administrator?

You can tell whether or not you are a local administrator by whether or not the "Admin" tab is present when you log in to Site Builder. The "Admin" tab is only present for local administrators.

What does being a local administrator mean?

Being a local administrator means that there are certain tasks that you can perform, that general users cannot. These include:

  • Granting and revoking user permissions
  • Adding and removing users
  • Managing sections and menus
  • Adding departmental links (general users can only add related links)
How can I become a local administrator?

Discuss with your supervisor or department head about whether you require local administrator access.

How can I tell who is a local administrator?

Local administrators can see who else is a local administrator by viewing the "Users" section of the "Admin" tab. General users should contact us to find out who in their department is a local administrator.

 

Contact

Site Builder User Guide

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000