President's Advisory Committee on Indigenous Affairs

In 2012 the Office of Indigenous Affairs and the position of Special Advisor to the President on Indigenous Affairs was created in response to 2009 report A Special Obligation Report of the Presidential Task Force on Aboriginal Initia. Operating institution wide, the Office of Indigenous Affairs was tasked with a challenge that must be met with the input and support of the Memorial community. In 2016, under the authority of the Office of the President, the President’s Advisory Committee on Indigenous Affairs (PACIA) was created. The purpose of the Committee is to advise the Special Advisor on Indigenous Affairs on all matters relating to the mandate of the Office of Indigenous Affairs, including academic programming, student support services, public engagement, and the development and implementation of the Strategic Framework for Indigenization. The creation of the Committee strengthens Memorial’s commitment to Indigenous students and helps advance Universities Canada’s Principles on Indigenous Education at Memorial University. The Committee includes representatives from the Labrador Institute, Grenfell Campus, Marine Institute, and the St. John’s campus.

To learn more about the President’s Advisory Committee, please read the Terms of Reference and the Gazette piece “Committed to Aboriginal Students”.

Committee Members:

  • Catharyn Andersen, Vice-President (Indigenous)
  • Rob Shea, Assistant Professor, Marine Institute
  • Paul Banahene Adjei, Associate Professor, Social Work, St. John’s campus
  • Kelly Anne Butler, Indigenous Education Specialist, Office of Indigenous Affairs, St. John's campus
  • Valeri Pilgrim, manager, Indigenous Student Resource Centre, St. John’s campus
  • Lynn Kendall, Assistant Professor, Business, Grenfell Campus
  • Sonja Knutson, Director, Internationalization Office, St. John’s campus
  • Sylvia Moore, Assistant Professor, Education, Labrador Institute
  • Erica Samms-Hurley, Nurse educator, Western Regional School of Nursing, Grenfell Campus
  • Carolyn Sturge-Sparkes, Co-ordinator, Aboriginal Health Initiative, and Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Medicine, St. John’s campus
  • Max Liboiron, Associate Professor, Geography, St. John’s campus - on leave
  • Ivan J White, Student Affairs Officer, Indigenous Affairs, Grenfell Campus