Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, May 5, 2021

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, May 5, 2021 at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (N. Catto/P. Whitridge). Carried.

2. Approval of the Minutes

Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of April 7, 2021 meeting be approved (P. Basabose/H. Everett, Carried.

3. Update from the Chair of the Curriculum and Programs Committee (N. Catto)

N. Catto moved that the following motion(s) be accepted and seconded as indicated:

- English 3159: Contemporary African-Canadian Literature (J. Lokash; carried)
- Political Science 4250: The European Union (P. Whitridge; carried)
- Usage Limitation for Language Study Courses (P. Basabose; carried)

4. Update from Chair of the Planning and Research Committee (J. Lokash)

- The Centre for Institutional Analysis and Planning (CIAP) will act as custodians for the Equity Survey. CIAP will soon receive the draft equity survey and information on when it will be released for faculty will be forthcoming.
- The Planning and Research Committee provided a response to the Strategic Plan and encouraged members of the faculty to provide feedback on the document as well. The feedback was well received in Senate.

5. Update from Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (A. Craig)

- Fall Instruction: The expectation is that most classes will be on campus in some capacity. Some classes will be remote or online learning depending on density. We will have to wait on more guidance from the Provincial Health Officials which is expected the week of June 1.
- Kickstarter program: Thank you for the work everyone did to support and participate in this initiative.
- This is the last faculty council with Dr. Jennifer S. Simpson as Dean. We wish her all the best in her new position and her future endeavors.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- An email will be circulated with research announcements for details on:
 - o Shifting Gears Webinars
 - Collaborative Research Opportunity Planning Sessions (CROPS)
 - o Tri-Agency Research Data Management Policy
 - o Relaunch of the HSS Research Showcase

Advanced Draft Feedback

7. Director of Memorial University Press (D. Tye)

- ISER Books has been renamed "Memorial University Press."
- Memorial University Press has withdrawn from Congress.
- Dr. Diane Tye's term as director of Memorial University Press is quickly coming to an end. She looks forward to talking with any faculty members who wish to put their name forward once the call comes out.
- Faculty members are encouraged to put their name forward and reach out to Dr. Diane Tye if they have any questions on the role.

8. Dean's Remarks

- HSS Faculty Hiring Review and Questions We need to have a plan to address the deficit. The Dean will communicate how she will address this in a Heads meeting. Mark Abrahams will be at a Heads meeting in May because there was strong support of that at the last meeting. Dr. Florentine Strzelczyk will be attending a future Faculty Council meeting because there was strong support of this at the last meeting as well.
- Cluster hire update: An MOU was sent out to departments that had dossiers to review. Consultation will happen with the departments and business. Departments will put forward a recommendation to the Dean, who will then put forward a recommendation to the Provost, no timeline has yet been provided. Feedback was given to the Provost on the draft criteria, but still waiting on final criteria. Jennifer will send out an email confirming the consultations on the dossiers with the departments that received indigenous cluster hires.
- Jennifer spoke to her leaving the role and passing things over to Dr. Ailsa Craig. Dr. Craig is very are aware what is going on in the faculty and has a good senior admin team there for support and believes Ailsa to be a great fit for the role of Interim Dean. She wishes all the best to all the faculty members in research and teaching. She also thanks Norm Catto and Jennifer Lokash and other faculty members for their continued service for the Faculty.
- **9.** Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:04 p.m.

List of Attendees

Jennifer S. Simpson (Dean's Office), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office), Renée Shute (Dean's Office), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Heather O'Brien (Dean's Office), Matthew Milner (Dean's Office/History), Sarah Penney (Dean's Office), Beverly Evans-Hong (Dean's Office), Stephan Curtis (History), Theresa Mackenzie (Co-op Program), Wendy Mosdell (English), Norm Catto (Geography), Peter Whitridge (Archaeology), Trevor Bell (Geography), Diane Tye (ISER/Folklore), Douglas Wharram (Linguistics), Allyson MacNeill (CITL), Arn Keeling (Geography), Jennifer Lokash (English), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Kathyrn Simonsen

(Classics), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Lincoln Addison (Anthropology), Holly Everett (Folklore), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Carissa Brown (Geography), Carol Lynne D'Arcangelis (Gender Studies), Jeffrey Howard (Classics), Karin Thomier (Digital Learning Centre), Kelley Totton (Folklore), Luke Roman (Classics), Mariya Lesiv (Folklore), Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Nicholas Welch (Linguistics), Nicole Power (Sociology), Pat Dold (Religious Studies), Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Rebecca Newhook (Coop Program), Robert Ormsby (English), Robin Whitaker (Anthropology), Sarah Gordon (Folklore), Sarah Thorne (English), Seamus O'Neill (Philosophy), Shannon Hoff (Philosophy), Sharon Roseman (Anthropology), Stewart Lawrence (History), Terri Coles (Dean's Office)

There were no regrets to the meeting.