Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, April 7, 2021

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, April 7, 2021, at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the agenda be approved (P. Dold/H. Everett). Carried.

2. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the Faculty Council meeting held on March 3, 2021 Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of March 3, 2021 (J. Lokash/B. Schipper). Carried.

3. Master of Philosophy in Humanities discussion with Dr. Mark Abrahams, Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Pro Tempore

Items for discussion (as noted in the Faculty Council minutes from February 3rd, 2021):

- Given success of program and high numbers of international students, why is Provost unwilling to fund contract position for M Phil director?
- For some ASMs and Heads in HSS, there is a perception that resource decisions at MUN unfairly disadvantage HSS.

Central points made by Dr. Abrahams and others attending Faculty Council:

- Dr. Abrahams noted the significant deficit in HSS and the importance of bringing the budget under control before approval of additional expenditures.
- In regard to a question about budget allocation formulas at MUN, Dr. Abrahams noted that there is no specific model used, and that generally historical models are used. The best predictor for an upcoming budget is what the previous year's budget was.
- Another concern raised was the Pathway Partnership Feasibility between Memorial
 University and Navitas. It was noted that there are cuts to programs, but there are
 funds for the Navitas program. Dr. Abrahams stated that this partnership will increase
 international student enrolments which in turn will generate an additional source of
 revenue. Dr. Abrahams noted that HSS will need to move forward and work with less
 funding.
- It was noted that HSS had 10 faculty members take part in the Voluntary Retirement program and no new faculty within HSS have been hired. Dr. Abrahams stated that the Indigenous cluster hire program is funded by the VRP and that there is a possibility that HSS may benefit from the cluster hires in terms of receiving one (or more of) those positions.
- Dr. Simpson noted that budget concerns will be an agenda item at the upcoming heads meeting. It was noted that there is interest among Faculty Council members in Dr. Abrahams attending another Faculty Council meeting regarding the VRP funding distribution and the best ways for HSS to respond to the budget deficit.

4. Update from Chair of the Planning and Research Committee (J. Lokash)

• Equity Survey

J. Lokash thanked everyone for attending the March 11th discussion on the HSS equity survey draft. Any other feedback can be sent to jlokash@mun.ca.

5. Update from Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (A. Craig)

A. Craig thanked faculty and staff for their hard work over the course of the semester.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- T. Allen noted that HSS Newsline will be sending out information regarding research grant workshops.
- MUN Press is considering whether toparticipate or not in Congress 2021. Dr. Tye welcomes feedback from faculty (dtye@mun.ca).

7. Dean's Remarks

- Acting Associate Dean (Curriculum and Programs) Appointment Process A call for expressions of interest for the AD position will be sent out in the next few days. If you have any questions about the role, contact acraig@mun.ca.
- HSS Faculty Hiring Review and Questions This item will be discussed at the May Faculty Council meeting

8. Announcements, any other business

Dr. Rajiva noted that the George Story lecture is on May 19th with Professor Tanehisa Otabe virtually.

9. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

List of Attendees

Scott Lynch (Economics), Charlene Burke (Dean's Office), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Anne Thareau (MLLC), Norm Catto (Geography), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Wendy Mosdell (English), Anne Staveley (English), Jay Foster (Philosophy), Joel Deshaye (English), Mark Abrahams (Provost-vice President), Sharon Roseman (Anthropology), Theresa Mackenzie (co-op), Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Carrie Dyck (Linguistics), Patricia Dold (Religious Studies), Kurt Korneski (History), Danine Farquharson (English), Jeff Webb (History), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Jennifer Dyer (Gender Studies), Cory Thorne (Folklore), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Arn Keeling (Geography), Bill Schipper (English), Holly Everett (Folklore), Jennifer Lokash (English), Christopher Lockett (English), Dave Wilson (Science), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Jennifer Simpson (Dean's Office), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Allyson MacNeill (CITL), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office/Co-op), Andrew Loman (English), Amanda Tiller-Hackett (Library), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Fiona Polack (English), Josh Lepawsky (Geography), Justin Fantauzzo (History), Karen Stanbridge (Sociology), Karin Thoemier (Digital Learning Centre), Kathryn Simonsen (Classics), Kelly Totten (Folklore), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Lincoln Addison (Anthropology), Lisa Holdworth (Philosophy), Milka Musah, Maria Mayr (MLLC), Milo Nikolic (Classics), Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Nancy Pedri (English), Nicholas Welch (Linguistics), Rebecca Newhook (Co-op), Renee Shute (Dean's Office/Academic Advising), Robert Ormsby (English), Robin Whitaker (Anthropology), Sarah Thorne (English), Sarelle Azaelos (Gender Studies), Seamus O'Neill (Philosophy), Shannon Hoff (Philosophy), Stephan Curtis (History), Stewart Lawrence (History), Sumangali Rajiva (Philosophy), Terri Coles (Dean's Office), Trevor Bell (Geography), Vicki Hallet (Gender Studies), Yolande Pottie-Sherman (Geography), Adrienne Peters (Sociology), Brad Levett (Classics), Diane Tye (Folklore), Edita Bosak (History), Erwin Warkentin (MLLC), Lisa Moore (English), Luke Roman (Classics), Matt Milner (History/Dean's Office)