Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, February 3, 2021, at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (N. Catto/P. Dold). Carried.

2. Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the Faculty Council meeting held on January 6, 2021 Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of January 6, 2021 (S. Curtis/P. Whitridge). Carried.

3. Update from Chair of the Curriculum and Programs Committee (N. Catto)

N. Catto moved that the following motion(s) be accepted and seconded as indicated: Political Science 6840: Political Parties in Canada (P. Whitridge; carried).

4. Update from Chair of the Planning and Research Committee (J. Lokash)

J. Lokash noted that the deadline for submissions for the George Story and Henrietta Harvey Distinguished lectureships is February 5th.

5. Update from Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (A. Craig)

- Reminder of the Collaborative Teaching Support Sessions
 HSS and CITL are still holding remote support sessions. The next session will be on
 February 24 at 12 p.m. If you have any specific questions, please send them to
 acraig@mun.ca.
- Peer Mentoring training information
 - A. Craig noted that the Student Experience Office has created peer mentor training based in Brightspace. This training provides resources to build engagement and support for peer mentors and peer lead programs. A. Craig will provide more information within an email in the coming days.
- Accessibility and accommodations for synchronous online teaching
 There have been student concerns about accessibility related to internet access for
 online learning. It is helpful if students have access to recorded sessions or to
 instructors lecture notes as supplemental materials to address this concern.
- Remote Learning Survey summary results
 CITL conducted a survey in October 2020 asking undergraduate and graduate
 students about their experiences during the fall 2020 semester. 453 students
 responded to the question "What was your biggest challenge in the fall 2020
 semester?". There were no areas where HSS stood out as particular areas of concern
 compared to the university over all, and the results show we are doing well with
 communication and understanding from instructors. Full results available at:
 https://citl.mun.ca/Student_experience_survey_report.pdf.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

- T. Allen noted the deadlines are approaching for the SSHRC Exchange funding and the Internal Conference fund.
- On February 11th at 11:30 a.m. there will be a SSHRC Town hall hosted by Dr. Vianne Timmons, President, MUN and Dr. Ted Hewitt, President, SSHRC, via Brightspace (available here).
- The NSERC USRA award deadline is March 8th.
- All funding opportunities can be found at the HSS Funding tracker site.

7. Dean's Remarks

- Updates
- MPhil

We have received interest for the MPhil directorship position. A call for expressions of interest to serve on a review committee for the role of Director has been circulated with the deadline of February 5th.

Dr. Abrahams is scheduled to attend Faculty Council on April 7th to address the following questions:

- Given success of program and high numbers of international students, why is Provost unwilling to fund contract position for M Phil director?
- For some ASMs and Heads in HSS, there is a perception that resource decisions at MUN unfairly disadvantage HSS. Can he speak to this?
- For Discussion
- Advising in HSS

HSS has been reviewing the current advising compensation model and notes the lack of parity; therefore, a new model has been proposed to Heads. The new model is posted to the HSS Faculty Council website for review (available here).

It was motioned that Faculty Council endorse the working plan and that it will remain under discussion for feedback and consultations going forward. Moved and seconded (N. Catto/S. Curtis) and passed with no objections. Any questions can be sent to Charlene Burke (charlenes@mun.ca).

- HSS Themes

Individuals in the Dean's Office and Heads have worked with results from a survey completed by Heads in consultation with their units to identify four themes in the areas of teaching, research, and creative work in HSS (document is available here). It was noted that these themes are supported by the President's Office and the Dean requests the endorsement of Faculty Council at the March meeting. However, concerns related to faculty and students recognizing each department in these themes were raised. A question to keep in mind while moving forward with these themes is "How well do these themes project each discipline?"

- MUN Strategic Framework

The Dean noted the "What We Heard" is available online and feedback can be provided to strategicplanning@mun.ca. At the next Head's meeting (February 17th) Heads can also

discuss what priorities for HSS are related to the document and can send a joint response between Head's and the Dean's Office.

8. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

List of Attendees

Jennifer S. Simpson (Dean's Office), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Norm Catto (Geography), Patricia Dold (Religious Studies), Peter Whitridge (Archaeology), Stephan Curtis (History), Jeffrey Howard (Classics), Scott Lynch (Economics), Stewart Lawrence (History), Rebecca Newhook (Co-op), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Alex Marland (Political Science), Diane Tye (Folklore), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Holly Everett (Folklore), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Kathryn Simonsen (Classics), Matt Milner (History/Dean's Office), Meghan Martin (Registrar's Office), Sarah Thorne (English), Danine Farquharson (English), Sarelle Azuelos (Gender Studies), Karine Abadie (MLLC), Milo Nikolic (Classics), Heather O'Brien (Dean's Office), Maria Mayr (MLLC), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Jay Foster (Philosophy), Jennifer Lokash (English), Luke Roman (Classics), Lynn Gambin (Economics), Nicholas Welch (Linguistics), Theresa Mackenzie (Science), Allyson MacNeill (CITL), Erwin Warkentin (Sociology), Lincoln Addison (Anthropology), Seamus O'Neill (Philosophy), Dave Wilson (Science), Liam Swiss (Sociology), Carrie Dyck (Linguistics), Andrew Loman (English), Michelle Rebidoux (Religious Studies), Myriam Osorio (MLLC), Philippe Basabose (MLLC), Suma Rajiva (Philosophy), Adrienne Peters (Sociology), Lisa Holdsworth (Philosophy)

Regrets

Terry Bishop-Stirling (History)