Faculty Council of Humanities and Social Sciences Meeting

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

The regular meeting of the Faculty Council, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, was held on Wednesday, January 6, 2021, at 1:00 p.m. via WebEx. A list of those present is appended.

1. Approval of the Agenda

Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be approved (J. Lokash/P. Whitridge). Carried.

2. Approval of Minutes

- Minutes of the Special Faculty Council meeting held on November 25, 2020 Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of November 25, 2020 (S. Curtis/H. Everett).
 Carried.
- Minutes of the Faculty Council meeting held on December 2, 2020
 Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of December 2, 2020 (D. Farquharson/P. Whitridge). Carried.
- Minutes of the Special Faculty Council meeting held on December 7, 2020
 Moved and Seconded to accept the minutes of December 7, 2020 (J. Lokash/D. Farquharson). Carried. One abstention.

3. Presentation on Navigate in HSS (20 minutes, inclusive of Q&A) (T. Nault, University Registrar)

T. Nault shared a PowerPoint presentation. He highlighted that a main goal of Navigate for Memorial University is student retention and increase graduation rates. The presentation demonstrated how Navigate can help HSS with communication between faculty, students and staff; it provides students with access to resources (appointment booking with advisors); and can assist with providing progress reports for enrolments.

4. Update from Chair of the Planning and Research Committee (J. Lokash)

- HSS Equity Survey

 The equity survey will be administered this term. It was noted that questions related to race and religion will be included in the survey.
- The George Story and Henrietta Harvey Distinguished Lectureships
 The deadline for nominations for George Story and Henrietta Harvey Distinguished
 Lectureships is January 15, 2021.

5. Update from Associate Dean, Curriculum and Programs (A. Craig)

• Online development requests with CITL

There were 18 requests received to develop online courses, with 12 being approved by CITL. Departments that have been approved to develop online courses have been contact by Ruth Hickey, CITL.

A. Craig noted that the HSS Remote Teaching Support sessions will continue into the Winter term. An update with dates/times will be provided at a later date.

6. Update from Associate Dean, Research (T. Allen)

• Peter Cashin Prize

The Peter Cashin Prize nomination deadline is February 1st, 2021.

T. Allen noted that she attends the Awards Advisory Committee. This committee exist to identify award recipients for external awards. January 15th is the deadline to receive interest for the SSHRC Impact Awards.

7. Dean's Remarks

Updates

- A memo was sent out on January 5th regarding next steps for the Master of MPhil Philosophy in Humanities program. The memo noted that the stipend and the course remission would be increased. The deadline to receive expressions of interest for the Director of the program and the Advisory Committee is January 20th.
- Advising in HSS
 HSS has been reviewing the current advising compensation model and notes the lack of parity; therefore, a new model has been proposed to Heads. The new model will be posted to the HSS Faculty Council website for review (update: available here). Discussion will continue at the February Faculty Council meeting.
- HSS Themes Individuals in the Dean's Office and Heads have worked with results from a survey completed by Heads in consultation with their units to identify four themes in the areas of teaching, research, and creative work in HSS (update: document is available here. Discussion will continue at the February Faculty Council meeting.
- **8. Adjournment:** The meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

List of Attendees

Jennifer S. Simpson (Dean's Office), Ken Hopkins (Dean's Office), Norm Catto (Geography), Patricia Dold (Religious Studies), Peter Whitridge (Archaeology), Stephan Curtis (History), Jeffrey Howard (Classics), Scott Lynch (Economics), Stewart Lawrence (History), Rebecca Newhook (Co-op), Tana Allen (Dean's Office/Classics), Ailsa Craig (Dean's Office/Sociology), Alex Marland (Political Science), Andrea Keating (Dean's Office), Diane Tye (Folklore), Dominique Bregent-Heald (History), Holly Everett (Folklore), Jillian Gould (Folklore), Kathryn Simonsen (Classics), Kelley Totten (Folklore), Lisa-Jo van den Scott (Sociology), Matt Milner (History/Dean's Office), Meghan Martin (Registrar's Office), Sarah Thorne (English), Danine Farquharson (English), Renee Shute (Dean's Office), Anne Thareau (MLLC), Sarelle Azuelos (Gender Studies), Daniel Kudla (Sociology), Terry Bishop-Stirling (History), Karine Abadie (MLLC), Milo Nikolic (Classics), Elizabeth Glenn (History), Heather O'Brien (Dean's Office), Maria Mayr (MLLC), Tom Nault (Registrar's Office), Tina Wall (Registrar's Office), Arthur Sullivan (Philosophy), Barry Stephenson (Religious Studies), Cory Thorne (Folklore), Jay Foster (Philosophy), Jennifer Lokash (English), Luke Roman (Classics), Lynn Gambin (Economics), Mark Stoddart (Sociology), Nicholas Welch (Linguistics), Rober Martinez-Espineira (Economics), Sarah Gordon (Folklore), Theresa Mackenzie (Science), Trevor Bell (Geography), Carol-Lynne D'Arcangelis (Gender Studies), Karen Stanbridge (Sociology), Karin Thomeier (Digital Learning Centre), Allyson MacNeill (CITL)

Regrets

Philippe Basabose (MLLC)