The A List Awards and Honours





www.mun.ca\honours

From the office...

It's hard to believe but the deadlines for the President's Award for Outstanding Research and University Research Professor are fast approaching. Consider nominating one of your colleagues and encourage others to do so. Let's make the Selection Committee's decisions as difficult as possible.

Upcoming deadlines:

- Canadian Academy of Engineering – October 31st
- Alexander Von Humboldt Awards– October 31st
- President's Award for Outstanding Research – November 1st
- Molson Prizes November 1st
- Bank of Canada Fellowship November 13th
- Trudeau Fellowships November 27th
- University Research Professor November 30th
- Royal Society of Canada Fellowships – December 1st
- CIHR New Investigator Award December 1st
- Manning Innovation Awards December 1st

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welco me/

Or contact Awards and Honours: ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca





Council (SSHRC) impact award in recognition of her groundbreaking work on small-scale fisheries. The Connection Award recognizes an

Dr. Ratana Chuenpagdee is a finalist for a

Social Sciences and Humanities Research

outstanding SSHRC-funded initiative to facilitate the flow and exchange of research knowledge within and/or beyond the academic community. It is given to an individual or team whose project

Dr. Ratana Chuenpagdee

has engaged the campus and/or wider community, and has generated intellectual, cultural, social and/or economic impacts.

Dr. Chuenpagdee is a professor of Geography in Memorial's Faculty of Arts and the Canada Research Chair in Natural Resource Sustainability and Community Development. (For more information click here)

ENGINEERING FACULTY MEMBER AWARDED FELLOW OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY OF CANADA

Congratulations to Dr. Azizur Rahman in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering for receiving the honor of Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (RSC). From the RSC citation, "M. A. Azizur Rahman is an internationally-recognized scholar for his contributions to the development and promotion of the Interior Permanent Magnet (IPM) technology. Highly efficient IPM motors and generators have proven to be critical for the development of hybrid electric vehicles. Azizur has received numerous awards such as the Gold Medal award for seminal contributions to engineering and the world." Founded in 1882, the Royal Society of Canada comprises the Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada. Its mission is to recognize scholarly research and artistic excellence, to advise governments and organizations, and to promote a culture of knowledge and innovation in Canada and with other national academies around the world.

CANADIAN RESEARCHER AWARDED NOBEL PRIZE IN PHYSICS

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 was awarded jointly to Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald "for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass". Dr. McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen's University in Kingston, Ont., and the director of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory in northern Ontario. (For more information click here)

Proof positive that Canadian research is worthy of international recognition. Let this inspire you to nominate a colleague for an international award.