# The A List Awards and Honours



www.mun.ca\honours

#### From the office...

**MAY 2018** 

Our congratulations to all those involved with the sudden cardiac death research on receiving the Governor General's Innovation Award. In addition to the principal researchers, many researchers, students and staff participated in this work and share in this wonderful honour. This story is a shining example of how research can impact our community.

### Upcoming deadlines:

- Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics - June 01
- Steacie Fellowship June 7
- Killam Prizes June 15
- Steacie Prize June 30
- Society of Toxicology of Canada Awards – July 1
- Chemical Institute of Canada
  Awards July 2
- NSERC Science Promotion Sept. 1
- CIHR Gold Leaf Prizes Sept. 6
- Sloan Fellowships Sept. 15
- Guggenheim Fellowships Sept.
  19
- Canadian Mathematical Society Prizes – Sept. 30
- Assoc. of Fac. of Medicine of Canada Awards Sept. 30
- 3M Teaching Fellowship Sept. 30

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welcome/

Or contact Awards and Honours:

ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca

# **GOVERNOR GENERAL'S INNOVATION AWARD**



A team of researchers from the faculty of medicine are recipients of the Governor General's Innovation Award for their groundbreaking discovery that's saving the lives of those affected by a deadly genetic disease. Drs. Terry-Lynn Young, Kathy Hodgkinson, Sean Connors and Daryl Pullman are the first recipients from Memorial to receive this prestigious award that

was created three years ago. They are being recognized for the discovery and treatment of a cardiac muscle disorder known as arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy (ARVC). The group has also spearheaded the establishment of life-saving screening methods and changes to important health legislation. (more here)

## TERRA NOVA YOUNG INNOVATOR AWARD



Dr. Matthew Parsons is this year's recipient of the Terra Nova Young Innovator Award (TNYIA), which recognizes and supports outstanding young faculty members whose research is particularly innovative and whose specific proposal has real potential to make a significant impact on society.

The award is supported through \$50,000 in funding from Suncor Energy, on behalf of the partners in the Terra Nova oil field. Dr. Parsons is an emerging researcher in the Faculty of Medicine where he is an assistant professor of biomedical sciences (neurosciences). He is leading a pioneering research study aimed at understanding how a healthy brain works and what goes wrong in neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's disease, which affects one in nine people over the age of 65. Currently, there is no known cure for the disease. (Details here)

## **ENGINEERING INSTITUTE OF CANADA FELLOWS**

Two members of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science were among 20 engineers inducted as fellows of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) for their exceptional contributions to the profession. The institute annually recognizes outstanding for their excellence in engineering and their services to the profession and to society.



Since joining Memorial, Dr. Octavia Dobre has been instrumental in establishing new wireless and optical communications laboratories in the faculty. She has secured more than \$7 million in research funding and made significant research contributions in the field of communications, specifically enabling technologies for 5G wireless networks, Internet-of-Things and optical and underwater communications.

Dr. Faisal Khan is head of the Department of Process Engineering and the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Offshore Safety and Risk Engineering. Dr. Khan has conducted research on safety and risk engineering and applied these risk-engineering concepts to safety, asset integrity management, pollution prevention and renewable energy. (more here)

