The A List Awards and Honours



WWW.MUN.CA/HONOURS

From the office...

MARCH 2019

Please join us in congratulating all the 2018 President's Awards recipients. We are very fortunate to have such talented faculty. Thank you to all those who participate in the process whether as nominators, selection committee members, etc. You make our work a pleasure.

Upcoming deadlines:

- John Lewis Paton Apr. 1
- NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation – Apr. 16
- Can. Cancer Soc. Awards for Excellence – Apr. 18
- J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine – May 1
- World Food Prize May 1
- Killam Fellowship May 15
- Massry Award May 27

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welc ome/

Or contact Awards and Honours: ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca

JOHN LEWIS PATON AWARD



Dr. Bill Montevecchi, cross-appointed to the departments of Psychology, Biology and Ocean Sciences, was presented the John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professorship, a lifetime designation recognizing his exceptional record of teaching and learning, rsearch and engagement. Among North America's most preeminent natural scientists, Dr. Montevecchi has led groundbreaking studies on environmental influences on animal behaviour and ecology. (More here)

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSOR



Dr. Ratana Chuenpagdee, Department of Geography, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; Dr. Ursula Kelly, Faculty of Education; and Dr. David Pike, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Faculty of Science, were honoured with the title University Research Professor.



Dr. Chuenpagdee has been honored in recognition of her seminal contributions to the study of global small-scale fisheries governance, establishing a world-renowned and highly respected research program and amassing an impressive and sustained record for knowledge dissemination. (more here)

Dr. Kelly is recognized throughout the world for advancing debates within the areas of education, cultural politics and social justice. She has led research focused on the sociocultural aspects of education, such as schooling, curriculum, and teaching and learning, and is celebrated for her psychoanalytic studies of cultural loss and mourning.



Dr. Pike was awarded in recognition of his innovative contributions to the international scientific community, creation of a robust and far-reaching intellectual program and for raising Memorial University's profile for cutting-edge research. Dr. Pike, works in the areas of discrete mathematics, with particular emphasis on combinatorial design, graph theory and coding theory. (more here)

PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING RESEARCH



The 2018 President's Award for Outstanding Research recipients are Dr. Ronald Haynes, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, and Dr. Alex Marland, Department of Political Science. Dr. Haynes is a leading expert in the study of numerical methods for partial differential equations as well as numerical linear algebra and optimization. His collaborative and multidisciplinary research is at the crossroads of applied mathematics, computational science and engineering, with practical applications to industry. (more here) Dr. Marland has become one of this country's most active political researchers. His expertise includes election campaigning; governance, public policy and political elites in Canada and Newfoundland and Labrador; and Canadian political parties and leadership. (more here)