The A List Awards and Honours



MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY

www.mun.ca\honours

From the office...

It's that time of the year when Selection Committees meet to choose the various President's Awards. It's all hush-hush but we have many great nominees who all deserve a round of applause. Stay tuned for the announcements. A big thank you to those of you who volunteer your time to sit on these committees.

As we wait for warmer summer temps to kick in, please think about who deserves one of the following awards:

- Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics– August 15th
- Wolf Prizes August 31st
- NSERC Science Promotion Sept.
 1st
- Guggenheim Fellowships Sept. 15th
- Sloan Research Fellowships Sept. 15th
- Tyler Prize September 15th
- Gairdner Awards October 1st
- Global Young Academy October 5th
- Canadian Academy of Engineering – October 31st
- Alexander Von Humboldt Awards– October 31st

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welco me/

Or contact Awards and Honours:



Pictured from left are the three fellows inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering: Jamie Long, Fred Cahill and Dr. Leonard Lye.

NATIONAL ENGINEERING ACADEMY INDUCTS THREE INDIVIDUALS WITH TIES TO MEMORIAL

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) inducted a number of alumni, faculty members and longtime Memorial University supporters to its membership at its 2015 annual general meeting and symposium in Hamilton, Ont., June 4.

Among the 50 members who have been inducted throughout Canada, three individuals have close connections to Memorial: Jamie Long, president, Hibernia Management and Development Co. Ltd. (HMDC); Fred Cahill, president, the Cahill Group; and Dr. Leonard Lye, professor and associate dean (graduate studies), Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. Each of the three individuals has made significant

contributions to the field of engineering and applied science both within the province of Newfoundland and Labrador and beyond. (For more information <u>click here</u>)

Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics

Dr. Larry Felt, Department of Sociology, was the inaugural recipient of the Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics. Dr. Felt's impact on the advancement of research ethics at Memorial is evident in all areas of his professional activity including teaching, research, and service to the university and the community. He was one of the original members of Memorial's Interdisciplinary Committee on Ethics in Human Research (ICEHR) and the chair of this committee from 2007-2011. He became chair of the provincial Health Research Ethics Authority after 2011 and also served as a member of the Government of Canada's Panel on Research Ethics.

Memorial University's commitment to excellence in scholarly research activities is achieved in part by the implementation of policies, procedures and processes that facilitate research ethics. This award was created to recognize individuals who have demonstrated leadership in creating an environment of excellence in this area. Memorial values courage among members of its research community and, as such, has named this award in honour of Marilyn Harvey, BN, a research nurse who brought forward her concerns regarding research ethics to senior administrators at the university. The deadline for nominations is August 15, 2015.

Ig Nobel Prize for Psychology: Peter K. Jonason, Amy Jones, and Minna Lyons, for amassing evidence that people who habitually stay up late are, on average, more self-admiring, more manipulative, and more psychopathic than people who habitually arise early in the morning. REFERENCE: "Creatures of the Night: Chronotypes and the Dark Triad Traits," Peter K. Jonason, Amy Jones, and Minna Lyons, Personality and Individual Differences, vol. 55, no. 5, 2013, pp. 538-541.