The A List Awards and Honours





From the office...

Our congratulations to Dr. Neis on her well-deserved appointment to the Order of Canada. We love to see our researchers get recognized at the national level. Please consider nominating your colleagues for one of the recognitions listed below.

Upcoming deadlines:

- John Lewis Paton Distinguished
 University Professorship Apr 01
- NSERC Synergy Awards Apr 16
- Killam Research Fellowships May 15
- Richard Marceau Fogo Island Research Fellowship May 15
- Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics June 01
- Steacie Memorial Fellowship June
 7
- Killam Prizes June 15
- Steacie Prize June 30

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welcome/ Or contact Awards and Honours:

or contact Awards and Honours.

ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca

ORDER OF CANADA



Dr. Barbara Neis is among 125 new appointments to the Order of Canada, one of the country's highest civilian honours. The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Close to 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. Dr. Neis, one of

Memorial's most distinguished social scientists, was named "for her innovative research on the interactions between work, environment and health in the coastal communities of Newfoundland and Labrador and beyond." Throughout her career, Dr. Neis has examined critical socio-economic issues, including the collapse of Atlantic cod stocks and its impact on communities in Newfoundland and Labrador. Combining rigorous scientific research with a strong concern for the welfare of local populations and the environment, Dr. Neis has distinguished herself in her field. Her interdisciplinary, community-engaged and problem-solving approach to research has often been inspired by issues arising from conversations and observations in the field in rural Newfoundland and Labrador. (more here)

JOHN LEWIS PATON AWARD

Nominations are being accepted for one of Memorial's most significant faculty awards. The John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professorship is presented annually to a faculty member who embodies the university's mission by demonstrating exceptional teaching, undertaking world-class research and sharing their knowledge and expertise nationally and internationally. The award comprises a lifetime designation, Distinguished University Professor, and a one-time unrestricted grant (\$20,000) to support future research, teaching and/or public engagement activities at Memorial.

Established in 2013, the award is named after the first president of Memorial University College. "Memorial is proud to celebrate the remarkable contributions of our faculty members," said Dr. Neil Bose, vicepresident (research). "I encourage all colleagues and friends, on each of our campuses, to consider nominations for the John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professorship for faculty who are making important contributions to our university and beyond." (Details here)

Frank McKenna Award

Dr. Doug House has received the Public Policy Forum's Frank McKenna Award for outstanding contributions to public policy by Atlantic Canadians, named in honour of Frank McKenna, one of the region's most accomplished leaders. Since 2013, PPF has presented awards to distinguished Atlantic Canadians who have built bridges between sectors, contributed to public policy and shown exceptional leadership.

Dr. House's career has spanned academia and public service. He is currently Honorary Research Professor in the Department of Sociology. During his academic career, he served as Head of Sociology, Research Director of the Institute of Social and Economic Research, and President of the Atlantic Association of Sociologists and Anthropologists. Dr. House has also had considerable public service experience including deputy minister positions and chairing several government policy commissions. He