# The A List

### **Awards and Honours**

WWW.MUN.CA/HONOURS



From the office...

**APRIL 2019** 

Happy Spring! Various committees are busily working on the President's awards and decisions on the research awards are expected in June. We are happy to report that Suncor has agreed to finance the Terra Nova Young Innovator Award again this year. Please note the deadline has changed to September 15.

#### Upcoming deadlines:

- J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine – May 1
- World Food Prize May 1
- Wighton Fellowship May 6
- Killam Fellowship May 15
- Massry Award May 27
- Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics – June 1
- Steacie Memorial Fellowship– June 7
- Killam Prizes June 15
- Steacie Prize June 30
- Prix Galien Canada June 30
- Society of Toxicology of Canada Awards – July 1
- Chemical Institute of Canada
  July 2

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welc

Or contact Awards and Honours: ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca

#### CHEMICAL INSTITUTE OF CANADA AWARD



Dr. Fran Kerton, Department of Chemistry, was named the 2019 recipient of the Canadian Green Chemistry and Engineering Award. Dr. Kerton is the second female and the only person outside of Ontario and Quebec to receive the honour. Dr. Kerton established the Green Chemistry and Catalysis Group, where she is developing environmentally friendly technologies to reduce plastic

pollution and food waste generation .(More here)

#### **TERRA NOVA YOUNG INNOVATOR AWARD**



Dr. Xili Duan, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Sciences the 2019 recipient of the Terra Nova Young Innovator Award (TNYIA), which recognizes and supports outstanding young faculty members whose research is particularly innovative and whose specific proposal has real potential to make a significant impact on society. The award is supported through \$50,000 in funding from Suncor

Energy, on behalf of the partners in the Terra Nova oil field.

Dr. Duan is leading the design of a novel device that directly converts wind energy to heat. Dr. Duan's unique system uses a heat generator to convert kinetic energy – created from the rotational motion of a small wind turbine – to heat through fluid agitation with specially designed propellers. (more here)

## MARILYN HARVEY AWARD TO RECOGNIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF RESEARCH ETHICS



Dr. Kati Szego is the latest recipient of the Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics. Dr. Szego, professor, School of Music, joined Memorial in 1995, establishing its program in ethnomusicology. She was a founding member of the school's ethics review committee, which she continues to serve on today. (more here)

IG NOBEL PEACE PRIZE [SPAIN, COLOMBIA] — Francisco Alonso, Cristina Esteban, Andrea Serge, Maria-Luisa Ballestar, Jaime Sanmartín, Constanza Calatayud, and Beatriz Alamar, for measuring the frequency, motivation, and effects of shouting and cursing while driving an automobile.

REFERENCE: "Shouting and Cursing While Driving: Frequency, Reasons, Perceived Risk and Punishment," Francisco Alonso, Cristina Esteban, Andrea Serge and Maria-Luisa Ballestar, Journal of Sociology and Anthropology, vol. 1, no. 12017, pp. 1-7.