The A List

Awards and Honours



JUNE 2016 www.mun.ca\honours

From the office...

Please join us in thanking members of the Awards Advisory Committee, the various awards selection committees and unit awards committees for volunteering their time to ensure recognition of fellow faculty members and the wonderful research happening at Memorial. Your efforts are greatly appreciated.

Upcoming deadlines:

- Society of Toxicology of Canada Awards – July 1
- Chemical Institute of Canada and its Constituent Society Awards – July 2
- Prix Galien Canada July 31
- Marilyn Harvey Award to Recognize the Importance of Research Ethics - Aug 17
- Trudeau Mentorship Sept 1
- NSERC Science Promotion Sept 1
- Global Young Academy Sept 25
- Gairdner Foundation
 Wightman Special
 Achievement Award Oct 1
- Canadian Academy of Engineering – Oct 31

For more information on these and other awards, please see the Awards and Honours website:

http://www.mun.ca/honours/welcome/

Or contact Awards and Honours: ellens@mun.ca/tinaw@mun.ca

A TEXAS FELLOW



Dr. John (Sean) Brosnan has been inducted as a Fellow of the Texas Institute for Advanced Studies (TIAS). In the field of amino acid biochemistry, Dr. Brosnan is known for his groundbreaking research into kidney and inter-organ metabolism of amino acids and one-carbon units. His most significant contributions concern understanding how several amino acids can be converted to glucose, a key element in our ability to withstand prolonged starvation; the regulation of amino acid metabolism by hormones; and how glutamine is used to regulate our acid—base

status. Dr. Brosnan's most recent work examines how vitamins—folate, in particular—can facilitate one-carbon metabolism.

Fellows are recruited for visiting appointments so they can interact with researchers and students oncampus at Texas A&M University. These individuals have distinguished themselves through outstanding professional accomplishments or significant recognition. Only 35 individuals have been inducted to date, including several Nobel laureates.

MENTORING AWARD

Congratulations to Dr. Lisa Rankin, an associate professor in Memorial University's Department of

Archaeology, on receiving the Geoffrey Marshall Mentoring Award from the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools. The prestigious award, given in memory of the association's former president, recognizes outstanding mentoring support of graduate students from course completion through research and placement.



During her distinguished 16-year career at Memorial University, Dr. Rankin has supervised 7 PhD students and 26 MA students of which 21 graduates remain in archaeology, either as faculty members, in the cultural resource management industry or as upper-level government archaeologists.

NATIONAL HISTORY AWARD



The 2016 Sir John A. Macdonald Prize for the best scholarly work in Canadian History has been awarded to Robert C.H. Sweeny for his work "Why Did We Choose to Industrialize? Montreal, 1819-1849". Dr. Sweeny's work is fundamental to understanding the accelerated evolution of Canada's industrial capacity since the beginning of the 19th century," said Dr. Richard Marceau, vice-president (research), at Memorial. "By demonstrating how past decisions powerfully impact society's future choices, Dr. Sweeny is helping 21st-century

Canadians rethink how they can shape the future of our country. In its citation, the Canadian Historical Association describes Dr. Sweeny's work as a "model of intellectual engagement, one that offers valuable reflections on the meaning of Canadian history and how it should be pursued from this point forward." Dr. Sweeny plans to teach a seminar based on the book in the winter 2017 semester. It will be one of his last teaching assignments at Memorial as he plans to retire next year.