MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada

Sydney Area

The Sydney area is comprised of three main population centres: Sydney City, Glace Bay and New Waterford. Sydney itself was founded in 1795 by United Empire Loyalists from New York State. A significant number of Highland Scots and Irish settlers arrived twenty years later. Today the city and surrounding towns are populated by a mix of ethnic groups, drawn by the promise of work in one of the region's many industries. Sydney is still known as “The Steel City,” even though the steel industry has declined since the mid-twentieth century. Coal also provided employment for those from rural areas of the island, although this industry has also declined in the last fifty years. Nearly one third of the island’s total population resides in this urban region.