Our organizing committee members are developing a stellar program that will include many speakers, invited guests and entertainers. The program noted below will be updated as more details are confirmed. Please continue to check back for updates. 

Friday, September 16, 2022
Bruneau Centre for Research and Innovation
St. John’s Campus, Memorial University
St. John’s, NL 

TimeActivitySpeakers / Details
6:30pm-7:00pm Reception [Cash Bar]  
7:00pm-7:15pm Land Acknowledgement and Welcome

Mr. Rob KellyConference Chair

Dr. Gerald GalwayInterim Dean, Faculty of Education

7:15pm-8:00pm Guest Speaker Ms. Jodie Lane, Aulatsiji Ilinniatuliginnimut/Director of Education,
Nunatsiavut Government
8:00pm-9:15pm Reception & Social [Cash Bar + Wine & Cheese] Entertainment provided by Arthur O'Brien and Fred Jorgensen of The Navigators.

Saturday, September 17, 2022

Emera Innovation Exchange Centre
Signal Hill Campus, Memorial University
St. John’s, NL

TimeActivitySpeakers / Details
8:00am-8:30am Morning Coffee Entertainment: TBD 

Land Acknowledgement and Greetings

(Conference Hall)

Mr. Rob KellyConference Chair

Mr. Trent LangdonPresident, Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association (NLTA)

Dr. Gerald GalwayInterim Dean, Faculty of Education


[Plenary Session]. Past, Present and Future of Teacher Education

(Conference Hall)

Dr. Philip Warren, former Minister of Education (Past Teacher Education)

Dr. Karen GoodnoughProfessor, Former Dean, Faculty of Education (Present and Future Teacher Education)


[Plenary Session]. Panel Response to Past, Present and Future of Teacher Education

(Conference Hall)

Mr. Trent LangdonPresident, Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association (NLTA) 

Representative (TBD), Faculty of Education

Representative (TBD), Newfoundland and Labrador English School District (NLESD)

Representative (TBD), Indigenous School, Newfoundland and Labrador

Ms. Sharon Penney, President, Retired Teachers' Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (RTANL)

Student Representative (TBD)

10:20am-10:50am Nutrition Break  

Concurrent Sessions

(Conference Hall, Multiple Rooms TBD)

Concurrent Sessions (TBD)
12:30pm-2:00pm  Luncheon 

Ms. Lisa BrowneVice-President, Advancement and External Relations, Memorial University (Guest Speaker) 

2:00pm-3:15pm [Plenary Session]. An Abiding Influence: Snapshots of Teachers, Teacher Education, and Culture in Newfoundland and Labrador

This multi-media presentation highlights the impact of teachers and teacher educators on the socio-cultural and historical fabric of twentieth-century Newfoundland and Labrador through a selection of stories, photos, and songs from around the province.

Dr. Ursula KellyProfessor, Faculty of Education

Dr. Clar DoyleProfessor Emeritus, Faculty of Education

3:15pm-3:40pm  Nutrition Break  

Concurrent Sessions

(Conference Hall, Multiple Rooms TBD)

Concurrent Sessions (TBD)
4:15pm Adjournment  
6:15pm-7:00pm Reception [Cash Bar]  
7:00pm-8:00pm Meal and Greetings

Mr. Rob Kelly, Conference Chair

Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland

8:00pm-8:30pm Banquet Speaker Mr. Roger Grimesformer Premier, Newfoundland and Labrador; former President, NLTA
8:30pm-9:30pm Reception & Entertainment Entertainment provided by Peter Halley and Shelley Neville of Spirit of NL