Our Objectives and Governance


The main objective of Atlantic Algebra Centre (AAC) is the promotion of research and study in Algebra and its applications at participating universities of Atlantic Canada. At its start, AAC enjoys the support of the Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences (AARMS) and Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN). Algebra has been a strong point in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics of Memorial University since a couple of decades ago. The algebraists of MUN maintain strong ties with their colleagues at various universities of Canada and throughout the world. Our Advisory Board includes Yuri Manin (Max Planck Institute and Northwestern University), Sudarshan Sehgal (University of Alberta), and Efim Zelmanov (University of San Diego). AAC is governed by the Board of Directors, currently: Yuri Bahturin (Director), Edgar Goodaire, Mike Parmenter, and Yiqiang Zhou. Dr Mikhail Kochetov serves as Deputy Director. At present our membership has extended to include algebraists from several universities of Atlantic Canada: Margaret Beattie (Mount Allison), Sara Faridi (Dalhousie), Colin Ingalls (UNB-Fredericton), John Irving (Saint Mary's), Eduardo Martinez-Pedroza (MUN), Mitja Mastnak (Saint Mary's), Bahram Rangipour (UNB-Fredericton), Roman Smirnov (Dalhousie), Yorck Sommerhäuser (MUN), Hugh Thomas (UNB-Fredericton), and Hamid Usefi (MUN).

We organize Algebra mini courses by prominent scholars (2 – 3 times a year), an annual workshop, colloquia and seminar talks, and exchange visits of research colleagues in Atlantic Canada. We support the research of active graduate students in Algebra and recent Ph D graduates of participating universities. We organise Algebra competitions among the students of MUN and other universities of Atlantic Canada and participate in events promoting Mathematics in this part of Canada and beyond.