About This Report | Feedback | Contact Us



The Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers (CACEE) named Memorial University the Education Institution of the Year. Memorial is the first recipient of the inaugural award, a significant milestone in the ongoing development of the Department of Career Development and Experiential Learning at Memorial University. CACEE is the pre-eminent organization in Canada that brings together employers and career educators to discuss issues of career education and recruitment. The award was given in recognition of leadership in career development in Canada.

Professor M. Azizur Rahman was awarded the 2004 William E. Newell Power Electronics Award for outstanding achievement. Dr. Rahman, a University Research Professor (awarded 1993), has been teaching for more than 42 years, 28 at the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science at Memorial. The award recipient is judged to be exceptional in the multidisciplinary field of power electronics with extraordinary contributions in a broad range of activities including teaching, innovative research, consulting endeavours, professional seminars, major projects or program management and the general advocacy of power electronics technology to the technical community.

Lisa Moore took up the post of Memorial's writer-in-residence in September. The Giller Prize-nominated author spent a busy fall semester at Memorial, lecturing English students, delivering workshops, and completing a draft of her first novel. As well, she welcomed aspiring writers to talk about the craft and the business of writing. Ms. Moore received a Giller nomination in 2002 for her collection of short stories titled Open.

Memorial University 's bachelor of science in pharmacy program received full six-year accreditation from the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CCAPP). In a letter to President Axel Meisen, executive director Jim L. Blackburn said the CCAPP board was very impressed by the accomplishments, including the direction of curriculum development, the leadership of the School of Pharmacy, the enthusiasm of the clinical faculty and the new science faculty, as well as the promise of four to five new faculty members.

Jean Guthrie of Memorial's English department was one of three faculty members in Atlantic Canada honoured with teaching awards by the Association of Atlantic Universities (AAU) Sept. 27. Prof. Guthrie received the AAU Anne Marie MacKinnon Instructional Leadership Award for demonstrating a commitment to the improvement of university teaching within her own institution and beyond.