Please Enter a Search Term

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

The faculty of the Department of Sociology at Memorial University is comprised of full-time instructors along with term and course instructors. The faculty has a wide variety of expertise and holds special interests in sociology of work, technology, culture and communications, theory, gender studies, social and economic development, the environment, deviance, victimology, criminal justice and corrections.


 

 

  Research interests
 

 

Judith Adler
Associate Professor

Email: jadler@mun.ca
Office: A-4063
Phone: 709-864-6913

 

 
  • Sociology of culture
  • Social psychology
  • Environmental philosophy
  • Sociology of tourism
Ailsa Craig - Department of Sociology, Memorial University Ailsa Craig
Associate Professor

Email: acraig@mun.ca
Office: A-4059
Phone: 709-864-2686 
 
  •  Cultural sociology
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Theory
  • Inequality
 

 

Stephen Crocker
Associate Professor

Email: bcrocker@mun.ca
Office: A-4068
Phone: 709-864-7447 

 

 
  • Social and political thought
  • Media
  • Phenomenology
  • Globalization
  • Imperialism
 Linda Cullum - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Linda Cullum
Associate Professor

Email: lcullum@mun.ca
Office: A-4049E
Phone: 709-864-8158 

 
  • Gender
  • Feminism
  • Narrative
  • Culture
  • Stratification
  • Labour
 Larry Felt - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

 

Larry Felt
Professor

Email: lfelt@mun.ca
Office: A-4082
Phone: 709-864-4592

 
  • Maritime sociology
  • Fisheries
  • Socio-economic development
  • Newfoundland
 Dr. Alan Hall - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Alan Hall

Email: alanh@mun.ca
Office: A-4064
Phone: 709-864-4592 

 
  • Labour unions
  • Occupational health
  • Sustainable agriculture 
 

 

Robert Hill
Associate Professor

Email: rhill@mun.ca
Office: A-4057
Phone: 709-864-7453 

 

 
  • Sociology of the labour market
  • Social class
  • Stratification and inequality
  • Work and the professions
 Lisa Kaida - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Lisa Kaida
Assistant Professor

Email: lkaida@mun.ca
Office: A-4069
Phone: 709-864-4466 

 
  • International migration
  • Social stratification
  • Sociology of work
  • Quantitative methods
 Scott Kenney - Department of Sociology, Memorial University Scott Kenney
Associate Professor

Email: skenney@mun.ca
Office: A-4049C
Phone: 709-864-8047 
 
  • Criminology
  • Deviance
  • Victimology
  • Symbolic interactionist theory
 

 

Anthony Micucci
Associate Professor

Email: amicucci@mun.ca
Office: A-4055
Phone: 709-864-7456

 

 
  • Deviance and criminal justice
  • Public and private policing
  • Risk
  • Gambling
 Barbara Neis - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Barbara Neis
Professor

Email: bneis@mun.ca
Office: IIC-3046
Phone: 709-864-7244 

 
  • Maritime sociology
  • Sociology of work
  • Gender and society
  • Health
  • Sociology of knowledge
  • Political economy
 Anton Oleinik - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Anton Oleinik
Associate Professor

Email: aoleynik@mun.ca
Office: A-4071
Phone: 709-864-7445 

 
  • Economic sociology
  • Comparitive penitentiary systems
  • Sociology of bureaucracy
  • Post-Soviet transformations
  • Institutional economies 
 Dr. Nicole Power, Department of Sociology, Memorial University

 

Nicole Power
Associate Professor

Email: npower@mun.ca
Office: A-4049A
Phone: 709-864-6914 

 

 
  • Work
  • Fisheries
  • Rurality
  • Gender
  • Youth
  • Health
 Dr. Rose Ricciardelli - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Rose Ricciardelli
Assistant Professor

Email: rricciardell@mun.ca
Office: A-4067
Phone: 709-864-7446

 
  • Criminology
  • Corrections
  • Gender
  • Wrongful convictions

 

Stephen Riggins
Professor

Email: sriggins@mun.ca
Office: A-4066
Phone: 709-864-2665 
 
  • Ethnicity
  • Sociology of culture
  • Mass media and public opinion
  • Material culture studies
  • Sociology of families
 Karen Stanbridge - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Karen Stanbridge
Associate Professor and Head

Email: kstanbri@mun.ca
Office: A-4049B
Phone: 709-864-7455 

 
  • Social theory
  • Political sociology
  • State theory
  • Social movements
  • Nationalism
 Mark Stoddart - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Mark Stoddart
Assistant Professor

Email: mstoddart@mun.ca
Office: A-4070
Phone: 709-864-8862 

 
  • Environmental sociology
  • Social movements
  • Communication and culture
  • Recreation, sport and tourism
 Liam Swiss - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Liam Swiss
Assistant Professor

Email: lswiss@mun.ca
Office: A-4061
Phone: 709-864-4467 

 
  • Political sociology
  • International development
  • Gender
  • Security
  • World society
  • Research methods
 Eric Tenkorang - Department of Sociology, Memorial University

Eric Tenkorang
Assistant Professor

Email: eytenkorang@mun.ca
Office: A-4049A
Phone: 709-864-2503 

 
  • Global health
  • Social demography
  • HIV / AIDS and adolescent sexuality
  • Medical sociology
  • Statistics and research methods

Professor Emeritus


Honorary Research Professor


Retired Professors


Teaching Term Appointments

  Name    Research interests
 

Linda Cohen

Email: linda@mun.ca
Office: A-4062
Phone: 709-864-4486 

 
  • Work and professions
  • Health and occupational health
  • Education
  • Family studies
  • Gender
  • Post-secondary pedagogy
  • Distance education pedagogy
 Robert Lewis - Department of Sociology, Memorial University Robert Lewis

Email: lewis@mun.ca
Office: A-4075
Phone: 709-864-3977 
 
  • Sociol gerontology
  • Historical sociology of Newfoundland
  • Fishing communities
  • The sociology of statistics
 

 

Anne Morris

Email: amorris@mun.ca
Office: A-4080
Phone: 709-864-7454

 

   
 

 

Susanne Ottenheimer

Email: sottemhe@mun.ca
Office: A-4065
Phone: 709-864-4020

 

   
Paul Ripley - Department of Sociology, Memorial University Paul Ripley

Email: pripley@mun.ca
Office: A-4078
Phone: 709-864-7521 
   

Per Course Appointments

                                                                                              

 

Jamie Baker

Email: jbaker@mun.ca
Office: A4082
Phone: 709-864-8677                                 

 

                                 

                                    

Staff

 Ruby Bishop, Department of Sociology, Memorial University

 

Ruby Bishop
Adminstrative Specialist II

Email: rubyb@mun.ca
Office: A-4056
Phone: 709-864-7443

 

  Melissa Petten 
Secretary

Email: mpetten11@mun.ca or sociology@mun.ca
Office: A-4056
Phone: 709-864-7457 
Share