Please Enter a Search Term

External Research Awards

Memorial University is home to many outstanding researchers. The work of these individuals (often alongside talented colleagues) has a tremendous impact on our communities and our understanding of the world. It is always a thrill when a dedicated researcher is recognized for their contributions.

On this page we will continue to profile those who have been recently recognized by external agencies. We extend our congratulations to these individuals and all their hardworking colleagues.

2014 Members of the Royal Society of Canada's College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

The College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists is Canada’s first national system of multidisciplinary recognition for the emerging generation of Canadian intellectual leadership.

Dr. Andrew Staniland is an assistant professor in the School of Music. He is an award-winning composer whose original output includes orchestral and chamber works, chamber opera and songs for solo voice, and electroacoustic and mixed media works. Winner of multiple awards, Dr. Staniland has been called “one of the most important musicians in Canada” by senior composer Gary Kulesha. He is one of the few composers worldwide who successfully combines the traditional art of musical composition with the digital media of the 21st century.
  Dr. Sean McGrath is an associate professor in the Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts. His work encompasses the research fields of cultural studies, philosophy of religion, history of ideas and continental philosophy. His ability to bring his knowledge of the history of philosophy to bear on contemporary ways of thinking and to non-specialists is exemplary. A three-time Humbolt fellow, Dr. McGrath’s current project looks at the relation of religion to secular society. He serves as the co-chair of the North American Schelling Society and as a member of the executive committee of the Canadian Society for Continental Philosophy and received the President’s Award for Outstanding Research in 2012.


2014 Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Election to fellowship in the Academy is one of the highest scholarly honours in Canada and awarded to those that have demonstrated leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science nationally as well as globally.

Dr. Thomas Michalak, is an international authority in the field of viral hepatitis and liver diseases. Since 2001 he has been the Senior (Tier 1) Canada Research Chair in Viral Hepatitis and Immunology at Memorial. His groundbreaking discoveries have changed fundamental concepts about the nature of hepatitis B and C viral infections, which affect more than half a billion people globally and have a direct impact on the safety of Canada’s blood supply and organ transplantation.


2013 Arctic Inspiration Prize 

The $1,000,000 prize is awarded to research teams who have made a substantial, demonstrated and distinguished contribution to the gathering of Canadian Arctic knowledge and have proposed plans to implement this knowledge for real world applications for the benefit of Arctic Peoples.

Northern communities face a multitude of interdependent issues stemming from factors such as climate change, infrastructure deficits and energy insecurity. Dr. Trevor Bell, Department of Geography, is the principal research partner for SakKijânginnatuk Nunalik: the Sustainable Communities Initiative (SCI) of the Nunatsiavut Government. Dr. Bell and the SCI team are tackling issues central to community wellbeing and sustainability in the context of climate change.


Have you or someone you know been recently recognized for outstanding research? Please be sure to let us know by contacting Ellen Steinhauer at 709-864-2651 or