Faculty


Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Religious Studies at Memorial University.

Dr. Michael DeRoche

Associate Professor
M.Th. Laval; M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5010 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-3539
Email:mderoche@mun.ca

Research Interests: Biblical studies, narratology, ancient Israelite religion, 2nd temple Judaism, early rabbinic Judaism

Dr. Patricia Dold

Associate Professor and Head
M.A. Calgary; Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5005 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-4538
Email:pdold@mun.ca

Research Interests: Hindu religious texts, Hindu goddesses, women and religion


Dr. Kim Ian Parker

Professor
M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5005 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8594
Email:kparker@mun.ca

Research Interests: Hebrew Bible, critical theory, post-modernism, religion and political theory


Dr. Jennifer Porter

Associate Professor and Graduate Officer
M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5009 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-2469
Email:jporter@mun.ca
Webpage:www.ucs.mun.ca/~jporter/

Research Interests: Religion and popular culture, Religion and Disney, Alternative religious movements.


Dr. Lee Rainey

Associate Professor
M.A., Ph.D. Toronto
Office: 5008 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8285
Email:lrainey@mun.ca

Research Interests: Daoism, Confucianism, Chinese philosophy


Dr. Jennifer Selby

Associate Professor
M.A. Queen's; Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5029 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-4046
Email:jselby@mun.ca
Webpage: http://www.faculty.mun.ca/jselby/ 

Research Interests: Islam in the West, secularisms, gender, method & theory, religion and anthropology


Dr. Michael Shute

 

Professor
M.T.S. Atlantic School of Theology; S.T.L., S.T.D. Regis; Th.D. Toronto
Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864 - 8172
Email:mshute@mun.ca

Research Interests: Social ethics, philosophy of religion, Lonergan, religious aesthetics

Dr. Barry Stephenson

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Liaison
M.A. Laurier; Ph.D. Calgary
Office: 5026 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8113
Email:bstephenson@mun.ca

Research Interests: Christian thought and history, ritual studies, religion and literature

 
Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Michelle Rebidoux

Visiting Assistant Professor
M.A. UBC, Ph.D. McGill
Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8172
Email:mrebidoux@mun.ca

Research Interests: Philosophy of religion, comparative religion, theories of religion, history of Christianity, religious ethics

 

 

Retired Faculty

Dr. David N. Bell

Professor Emeritus and Honorary Research Professor
M.A. Leeds; M. A., D.Phil. Oxford, F.R.S.C.
Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8172
Email:dbell@mun.ca

Dr. David J. Hawkin

Professor
P.G.C.E. Leeds; M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office:
5030 Arts & Administration
Email:
dhawkin@mun.ca

Dr. Morley F. Hodder

Professor Emeritus
Dip. in Th. United Theological College; P.G.Dip. in Th. Edinburgh; S.T.M., Th.D. Boston

Dr. Hans Rollmann

Honorary Research Professor
M.A. Vanderbilt, Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5027 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8171
Email: hrollmann@mun.ca

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Contact

Department of Religious Studies

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000