GENERAL INFORMATION

UNIVERSITY DIARY FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 1999-2000

July 19, 1999, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Fall Semester 1999
August 9, 1999, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for Graduate Students, Fall Semester, 1999
August 30, 1999, Monday Fall Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Preclerkship and Clerkship Medical Students

September 1, 1999, Wednesday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Winter Semester 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
September 6, 1999, Monday Labour Day. No lectures
September 6 & 7, 1999, Monday & Tuesday Seminar Series for all new first semester students
September 8, 1999, Wednesday Lectures begin, Fall Semester

Fall Internship begins for Education Students

Deadline for fees payment, Fall Semester

September 9, 1999, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
September 14, 1999, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
September 15, 1999, Wednesday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Spring Semester (Intersession, Summer Session and 14-week) 1999
September 22, 1999, Wednesday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

September 29, 1999, Wednesday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

October 1, 1999, Friday Final date for filing applications for undergraduate admission/re-admission to Winter Semester 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
October 6, 1999, Wednesday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
October 11, 1999, Monday Thanksgiving Day. No lectures
October 12, 1999, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
October 13, 1999, Wednesday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester
October 22, 1999, Friday Annual Fall Convocation
October 27, 1999, Wednesday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester

November 4, 1999, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
November 8, 1999, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Winter Semester 2000
November 9, 1999, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
November 10, 1999, Wednesday Fall Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
November 11, 1999, Thursday Remembrance Day. No lectures.
November 12, 1999, Friday No lectures for Preclerkship Medical Students
November 15, 1999, Monday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
December 6, 1999, Monday Lectures end, Fall Semester
December 8, 1999, Wednesday Fall Internship ends for Education Students
December 9, 1999, Thursday Examinations begin, Fall Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

December 13, 1999, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for Graduate Students, Winter Semester 2000

Last day of lectures for students in the B.Ed. (Intermediate / Secondary) programme

December 14, 1999, Tuesday Regular meeting of the Senate
December 17, 1999, Friday Fall Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions end for Preclerkship and Clerkship Medical Students

December 18, 1999, Saturday Examinations end, Fall Semester
January 1, 2000, Saturday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Spring Semester 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
January 3, 2000, Monday Sessions begin for Clerkship Medical Students

Winter Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

January 10, 2000, Monday Lectures begin, Winter Semester

Sessions begin for Preclerkship Medical Students

Winter Internship begins for Education Students

Deadline for fees payment, Winter Semester

January 11, 2000, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
January 13, 2000, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
January 17, 2000, Monday Final date for receipt by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Fall Semester, 1999

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 2000. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

January 24, 2000, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

January 31, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

February 1, 2000, Tuesday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Spring Semester (14-week, Intersession and Summer Session) 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit.
February 7, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
February 8, 2000, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
February 14, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester
February 15, 2000, Tuesday Final date for filing with the Registrar application for Degrees and Diplomas for the Spring Convocation 2000.  Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
February 21, 2000, Monday Winter Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
February 24, 2000, Thursday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
February 28, 2000, Monday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester

March 1, 2000, Wednesday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Fall Semester 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
March 9, 2000, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
March 14, 2000, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
March 27, 2000, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2000
March 31, 2000, Friday Sessions end for Spring break for Preclerkship Medical Students
April 5, 2000, Wednesday Lectures end, Winter Semester
April 7, 2000, Friday Winter Internship ends for Education Students
April 10, 2000, Monday Examinations begin, Winter Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Preclerkship Medical Students

April 11, 2000, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
April 17, 2000, Monday Workshop begins for Term 2 Engineering Students

Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for Graduate Students, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2000

April 19, 2000, Wednesday Examinations end, Winter Semester
April 20, 2000, Thursday Winter Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students
April 21, 2000, Friday Good Friday. No classes for Preclerkship Medical Students
April 24, 2000, Monday Spring Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students except Work Term I Engineering Students
April 28, 2000, Friday Sessions end for Clerkship Medical Students (Class of 2000)
May 1, 2000, Monday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Fall Semester 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
May 3, 2000, Wednesday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
May 5, 2000, Friday Annual Spring Convocation, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College session
May 8, 2000, Monday Lectures begin for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7

Spring Work Term begins for Work Term I Engineering Students

May 9, 2000, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
May 15, 2000, Monday Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session)

May 22, 2000, Monday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate Courses, Winter Semester 2000

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 24, 25,26, 2000, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday Annual Spring Convocation
May 25, 2000, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession
May 29, 2000, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date

June 1, 2000, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession
June 5, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester.

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester.

June 5, 2000, Monday Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Spring Semester.
June 8, 2000, Thursday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents

June 12, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring Semester courses dropped after this date
June 19, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester
June 23, 2000, Friday Lectures end, Intersession
June 26, 2000, Monday Examinations begin, Intersession

Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring Semester

June 28, 2000, Wednesday Examinations end, Intersession
June 29, 2000, Thursday Lectures resume, 14-week Spring Semester

Lectures begin for Undergraduate Students and for Graduate courses in Education, Summer Session

June 30, 1999, Friday Sessions end for Preclerkship Medical Students

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 2000. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

July 3, 2000, Monday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester

Memorial Day holiday. No lectures

July 6, 2000, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Summer Session

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session

July 10, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session
July 13, 2000, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer Session courses dropped after this date
July 15, 2000, Saturday Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Fall Convocation 2000. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
July 17, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
July 24, 2000, Monday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
July 24, 2000, Monday Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
August 4, 2000, Friday Lectures end for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
August 10, 2000, Thursday Lectures end, Summer Session.

Classes will follow the Monday timetable on this day only for 14-week and Summer session courses.

August 11, 2000, Friday Lectures end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 12, 2000, Saturday Examinations begin, Summer session courses
August 14, 2000, Monday Examinations begin, 14-week Spring Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

August 15, 2000, Tuesday Examinations end, Summer Session
August 19, 2000, Saturday Examinations end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 25, 2000, Friday Spring Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students



Last modified on February 18, 2000 by MaryJane Puxley

Up to Calendar Table of Contents

Back to Registrar's Office Home Page