Mr. G. Bruce (Chairman)
Vice-President, Offshore Development & Operations

Mr. J.S. Blair
International & Canada Frontier
Husky Oil Operations Ltd.

Honourable Dr. J.C. Crosbie, P.C., Q.C.
Patterson Palmer Hunt Murphy

Mr. G. Gosse
President, Bull Arm Site Corporation
Provincial Coordinator & Chairman
Hibernia Project Monitoring Committee
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Dr. K. Keough
Vice-President (Research)
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Mr. S.B. MacPhee
Dominion Hydrographer/Director General
Canadian Hydrographic Service
Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Mr. K.J. Miller
Vice-President, Frontier
Mobil Oil Canada Properties

Mr. D. Oake
Vice-President, Corporate & Regulatory Affairs
NewTel Communications

Mr. M. Ruelokke
Deputy Minister
Industry, Trade and Technology
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Dr. R. Seshadri
Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Mr. H.A. Smith
Hibernia Management and Development Company Ltd.

Mr. D.S. Walters
Newfoundland and Labrador, Royal Bank of Canada

Ms. J.A. Whittick
President & Chief Executive Officer

Ms. R.I. Zygocki
Chief Financial Officer & General
Manager of Business & Information Services
Chevron Canada Resources


Mr. G. Lever
Manager, Terra Nova Operations


Whittick, J.A., B.Sc. Dunelm; President and Chief Executive Officer

Clark, J.I., B.Sc. Acadia, B.Eng. Technical University of Nova Scotia, M.Sc. Alberta, Ph.D. Technical University of Nova Scotia, P.Eng.

Kennedy, S.C., B.Comm. Memorial


Bruneau, S.E., B.Eng. Memorial, M.E.Sc. Western Ontario, Ph.D. Memorial, P.Eng.

Crocker, G.B., B.Sc. Trent, M.Sc. McGill, Ph.D. Cambridge

English, G.M., B.Sc., M.Sc. Memorial, P.Geo.

Gosine, R.G., B.Eng. Memorial, Ph.D. Cambridge, P.Eng.

Guzzwell, J.A., B.Eng. Memorial, M.Sc.Eng. Queen's, P.Eng.

Hale, R.D., B.Eng. Memorial

Hansen, N.H., B.Eng. Memorial

Hart, D.J., B.Sc. Toronto, M.Sc. Windsor, Ph.D. Waterloo

Hurley, S., B.Eng. Memorial

Khan, R.H., B.Sc. Karachi, M.Sc., M.Phil. Southampton, Ph.D. Calgary, P.Eng.

King, A.D., B.Sc., B.Ed., B.Eng. Memorial

Kumar, P.E., B.Sc.Eng. Imperial College, Ph.D. Southampton

LeFeuvre, E.P., B.Eng. Memorial

McDermott, I.R., B.Sc., Ph.D. Wales

McKenna, R.F., B.Sc. Queen's, M.A.Sc., Ph.D. Waterloo, P.Eng.

Nesbitt, E.A., B.A. Carleton, B.Ed. Queen's

Paulin, M.J., B.Eng., M.Eng. Memorial, P.Eng.

Pearson, W.G., B.Sc. Memorial

Phillips, R., B.Sc. Bristol, M.Phil., Ph.D. Cambridge

Popescu, R., B.S., Ph.D. Tech.Univ. of Civil Eng. Bucharest, M.A., Ph.D. Princeton

Randell, C.J., B.Eng. Lakehead, M.A.Sc., Ph.D. Victoria

Smyth, S.J., B.Eng. Memorial

Walter, D.J., B.Sc. Calgary, M.Eng. Alberta

C-CORE is a not for profit, incorporated research organization of Memorial University of Newfoundland. Funded by industry and government, the Centre undertakes research and development that contributes to the safe and economic development of Canada's ocean related resources. C-CORE educates and trains engineers and scientists to work in the offshore; identifies impediments to offshore resource development; and contributes to the economic development of Newfoundland and Labrador as a centre for cold ocean engineering through the transfer of technology to the private sector.

C-CORE has six main research thrusts: Ice Engineering, Remote Sensing, Seabed Geophysics, Geotechnical Engineering, Space Systems and Applications and Intelligent Systems. The Centre develops its research priorities in consultation with industry and government to reflect their changing needs. C-CORE's research work is strongly experimental. A multidisciplinary team of researchers has been built up whose expertise includes engineering, acoustics, geology, geophysics, mining, electronics, remote sensing and computer science. Graduate and undergraduate students participate in the Centre's programs.

C-CORE is located in the Captain Robert A. Bartlett Building adjacent to the S.J. Carew Building. The Centre works in very close co-operation with other sectors of the University and particularly with the members of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science. The Centre's mandate includes a contribution to the education and development of people who will become competent to work in the ocean environment.

C-CORE was established in 1975 by Memorial University of Newfoundland, with the initial financial support of the Devonian Group of Charitable Foundations of Calgary. The Associates of C-CORE, industry and government agencies in Canada and internationally, support the work of the Centre through contracts, grants and contributions. The Associates meet annually to review progress and to help shape future research programs.

The Board of Directors is charged with responsibility for the funding, research activities and policy direction of C-CORE. Its members, who are appointed by the President of Memorial University, are drawn from industry, government and Memorial University.

To keep others informed of its activities, the "C-CORE News" is published periodically. C-CORE operates the Ocean Engineering Information Centre (OEIC). Located in the Captain Robert A. Bartlett Building, the OEIC has a special collection of ocean engineering material and provides an information service to C-CORE and other researchers as well as to the offshore industry.

Last modified on May 6, 1998 by MaryJane Puxley

Up to Calendar Table of Contents

Back to Registrar's Office Home Page