GENERAL INFORMATION

UNIVERSITY DIARY FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 1997-98

July 8, 1997, Tuesday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses and for Graduate Students, Fall Semester 1997
August 25, 1997, Monday Fall Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students
September 1, 1997, Monday Special Convocation in conjunction with Summit of the Sea Conference

Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Winter Semester 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information.

September 2, 1997, Tuesday Lectures begin for First-, Second- and Third-Year Medical Students
September 2 & 3, 1997, Tuesday & Wednesday Seminar Series for all new first semester students
September 4, 1997, Thursday Lectures begin, Fall Semester

Fall Internship begins for Education Students other than B.Ed. (Secondary)

Deadline for fees payment, Fall Semester

September 9, 1997, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
September 11, 1997, Thursday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Spring Semester (Intersession, Summer Session and 14-week) 1997

Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents

September 18, 1997, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

September 25, 1997, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to submit thesis or reports for examination in order to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Med 9900 course without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree for non-thesis graduate programmes completed Spring Semester, 1997

October 1, 1997, Wednesday Final date for filing applications for undergraduate admission/re-admission to Winter Semester 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
October 2, 1997, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
October 9, 1997, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester
October 13, 1997, Monday Thanksgiving Day. No lectures
October 14, 1997, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
October 23, 1997, Thursday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester

October 24, 1997, Friday Annual Fall Convocation
November 3, 1997, Monday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses and for Graduate Students, Winter Semester 1998
November 7, 1997, Friday Fall Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
November 11, 1997, Tuesday Remembrance Day. No lectures
November 12, 1997, Wednesday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

Lectures will follow the Monday timetable on this day only

November 13, 1997, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
November 18, 1997, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
December 3, 1997, Wednesday Lectures end, Fall Semester

Fall Internship ends for Education Students

December 8, 1997, Monday Examinations begin, Fall Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

December 9, 1997, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
December 10, 1997, Wednesday Last day of lectures for students in the B.Ed. (Secondary) programme
December 17, 1997, Wednesday Examinations end, Fall Semester
December 19, 1997, Friday Fall Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students

Lectures end for First-, Second- and Third-Year Medical Students

January 1, 1998, Thursday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Spring Semester 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information.
January 5, 1998, Monday Lectures begin for First-, Second-, and Third-Year Medical Students

Winter Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

January 7, 1998, Wednesday Seminar series for all new first semester students (St. John's campus only)
January 8, 1998, Thursday Lectures begin, Winter Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Winter Semester

Winter Internship begins for Education Students

Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents

January 13, 1998, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
January 15, 1998, Thursday Final date for receipt by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Fall Semester, 1997
January 19, 1998, Monday Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 1998. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
January 22, 1998, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

January 29, 1998, Thursday Lectures end for Third-Year Medical Students

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to submit thesis or reports for examination in order to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Med 9900 course without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree for non-thesis graduate programmes completed Fall Semester, 1997

February 1, 1998, Sunday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Spring Semester (14-week, Intersession and Summer Session) 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
February 2, 1998, Monday Lectures begin for Fourth-Year Medical Students (Class of 1999)
February 5, 1998, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
February 10, 1998, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
February 12, 1998, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester
February 15, 1998, Sunday Final date for filing with the Registrar application for Degrees and Diplomas for the Spring Convocation 1998.  Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
February 23, 1998, Monday Winter Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
February 26, 1998, Thursday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester

March 1, 1998, Sunday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Fall Semester 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
March 10, 1998, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
March 12, 1998, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
March 17, 1998, Tuesday Advance registration using the Telephone Registration System begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses and for Graduate Students, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 1998
April 8, 1998, Wednesday Lectures end, Winter Semester

Winter Internship ends for Education Students

April 10, 1998, Friday Good Friday
April 13, 1998, Monday Examinations begin, Winter Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

April 14, 1998, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
April 22, 1998, Wednesday Examinations end, Winter Semester
April 24, 1998, Friday Winter Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students
April 26, 1998, Sunday Lectures end for Fourth-Year Medical Students (Class of 1998)
April 27, 1998, Monday Spring Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students
May 1, 1998, Friday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programmes commencing in Fall Semester 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information.
May 4, 1998, Monday Lectures begin for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
May 8, 1998, Friday Annual Spring Convocation, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College session

Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents

May 11, 1998, Monday Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session)

May 12, 1998, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
May 19, 1998, Tuesday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate Courses, Winter Semester 1998

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 21, 1998, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession
May 25, 1998, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date

May 27, 28, 29, 1998, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday Annual Spring Convocation
May 28, 1998, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession
June 1, 1998, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester.

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programmes without incurring liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to submit thesis or reports for examination in order to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Med 9900 course without incurring liability for tuition fees, Spring Semester

Final date for departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree for non-thesis graduate programmes completed Winter Semester, 1998

June 4, 1998, Thursday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

June 8, 1998, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring Semester courses dropped after this date
June 11, 1998, Thursday Regular Meeting of the Board of Regents
June 15, 1998, Monday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester
June 19, 1998, Friday Lectures end, Intersession
June 22, 1998, Monday Examinations begin, Intersession

Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring Semester

June 24, 1998, Wednesday Examinations end, Intersession
June 25, 1998, Thursday Lectures resume, 14-week Spring Semester

Lectures begin for Undergraduate Students and for Graduate courses in Education, Summer Session

June 26, 1998, Friday Lectures end for First- and Second-Year Medical Students

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 1998. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

June 29, 1998, Monday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester

July 1, 1998, Wednesday Memorial Day. No lectures
July 2, 1998, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Summer Session

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session

July 3, 1998, Friday Lectures will follow the Wednesday timetable on this day only
July 6, 1998, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session
July 10, 1998, Friday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer Session courses dropped after this date
July 14, 1998, Tuesday Last day for Undergraduate Students beyond their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
July 15, 1998, Wednesday Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Fall Convocation 1998. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
July 21, 1998, Tuesday Final date for Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session

Last day for Undergraduate Students in their first semester to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session

July 31, 1998, Friday Lectures end for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
August 6, 1998, Thursday Lectures end, Summer Session
August 7, 1998, Friday Lectures end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 8, 1998, Saturday Examinations begin, Summer Session
August 10, 1998, Monday Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

Examinations begin, 14-week Spring Semester

August 11, 1998, Tuesday Examinations end, Summer Session
August 15, 1998, Saturday Examinations end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 21, 1998, Friday Spring Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students



Last modified on October 8, 1997 by MaryJane Puxley

Up to Calendar Table of Contents

Back to Registrar's Office Home Page