GENERAL INFORMATION

UNIVERSITY DIARY FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2003-2004

June 2, 2003, Monday   
Registration begins for Interns/Residents and for Undergraduate Medical Students
July 21, 2003, Monday
Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Fall Semester 2003
August 1, 2003, Friday   Deadline for registration and fees payment for Interns/Residents
August 11, 2003, Monday
Registration begins for Graduate Students, Fall Semester, 2003
August 25, 2003, Monday Fall Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship and Third-year Clerkship Medical Students
September 1, 2003, Monday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Winter Semester 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information

Deadline for registration for Undergraduate Medical Students

Labour Day. No lectures
September 1 & 2, 2003   
Monday & Tuesday
Orientation for all new first semester students
September 2, 2003, Tuesday
Fall Internship begins for Education Students
September 3, 2003, Wednesday Lectures begin, Fall Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Fall Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Undergraduate Medical Students, Fall Semester
September 9, 2003, Tuesday
Regular Meeting of the Senate
September 10, 2003, Wednesday
Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Spring Semester (Intersession, Summer Session and 14-week) 2003
September 17, 2003, Wednesday
End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester
September 24, 2003, Wednesday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for continuance fees, Fall Semester
October 1, 2003, Wednesday Final date for filing applications for undergraduate admission/readmission to Winter Semester 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
October 13 , 2003, Monday   
Thanksgiving Day. No lectures. Fall Semester Break begins at St. John’s Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
October 14, 2003, Tuesday
Regular Meeting of the Senate
October 15, 2003, Wednesday
Lectures resume at St. John’s Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
October 16, 2003, Thursday
Classes will follow the Tuesday timetable on this day only
October 17, 2003, Friday
Annual Fall Convocation
October 22, 2003, Wednesday Last day for Undergraduate Students and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester
November 10, 2003, Monday No lectures for Pre-clerkship Medical Students
November 11, 2003, Tuesday
Remembrance Day. No lectures
November 12, 2003, Wednesday Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Winter Semester 2004
November 18, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
December 1, 2003, Monday
Registration begins for Graduate Students, Winter Semester 2004
December 2, 2003, Tuesday
Lectures end, Fall Semester
December 5, 2003, Friday Fall Internship ends for Education Students
December 8, 2003, Monday Examinations begin, Fall Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students
December 9, 2003, Tuesday
Regular meeting of the Senate

Last day of lectures for students in the B.Ed. (Intermediate / Secondary) and B. Ed. (Intermediate/Secondary) conjoint with Diploma in Technology Education programs
December 12, 2003, Friday
Sessions end for Pre-clerkship and Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students
December 17, 2003, Wednesday
Examinations end, Fall Semester
December 19, 2003, Friday
Fall Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students
December 21, 2003, Sunday Sessions end for Third-year Clerkship Medical Students
January 1, 2004, Thursday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Spring Semester 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
January 5, 2004, Monday   
Winter Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship and Third-year Clerkship Medical Students
January 7, 2004, Wednesday

Orientation for new first semester students

Winter Internship begins for Education Students
January 8, 2004, Thursday Lectures begin, Winter Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Winter Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Undergraduate Medical Students, Winter Semester
January 13, 2004, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
January 15, 2004, Thursday Final date for filing with the Registrar application for Degrees and Diplomas for the Spring Convocation 2004.  Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

Final date for receipt by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Fall Semester, 2003

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 2004. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
January 22, 2004, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester
January 26, 2004, Monday Sessions resume for Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students
January 29, 2004, Thursday
Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for continuance fees, Winter Semester
February 1, 2004, Sunday
Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/readmission to Spring Semester (14-week, Intersession and Summer Session) 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit.
February 5, 2004, Thursday
Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
February 10, 2004, Tuesday     Regular Meeting of the Senate
February 23, 2004, Monday     Winter Semester Break begins at St. John’s Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
February 26, 2004, Thursday     Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester
March 1, 2004, Monday
Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/readmission to Fall Semester 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
March 9, 2004, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
March 26, 2004, Friday Sessions end for Spring break for Pre-clerkship Medical Students
April 5, 2004, Monday Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2004

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship Medical Students
April 7, 2004, Wednesday     Lectures end, Winter Semester
April 8, 2004, Thursday     Winter Internship ends for Education Students
April 9, 2004, Friday Good Friday. No lectures or examinations
April 12, 2004, Monday     Examinations begin, Winter Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students
April 13, 2004, Tuesday Regular meeting of the Senate
April 19 & 20, 2004
Monday and Tuesday
Health and Occupational Safety Seminar for Term 2 Engineering Students

April 21, 2004, Wednesday Examinations end, Winter Semester

Registration begins for Graduate Students, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session 2004
April 23, 2004, Friday Winter Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions end for Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students
April 26, 2004, Monday  Spring Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students
May 1, 2004, Saturday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Fall Semester 2004. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
May 3, 2004, Monday Lectures begin for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
May 7, 2004, Friday Annual Spring Convocation, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College session
May 10, 2004, Monday     Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session)
May 11, 2004, Tuesday
Regular Meeting of the Senate
May 17, 2004, Monday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate Courses, Winter Semester 2004

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession
May 20, 2004, Thursday
Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession
May 24, 2004, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date
May 26, 27, & 28, 2004
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Annual Spring Convocation
May 31, 2004, Monday

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for continuance fees, Spring Semester
June 3, 2004, Thursday

Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession
June 7, 2004, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring Semester courses dropped after this date
June 18, 2004, Friday     Lectures end, Intersession
June 21, 2004, Monday     Examinations begin, Intersession
   
Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring Semester
June 23, 2004, Wednesday Examinations end, Intersession
June 24, 2004, Thursday     Lectures resume, 14-week Spring Semester
June 25, 2004, Friday Sessions end for Pre-clerkship Medical Students

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 2004. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
June 28, 2004, Monday Lectures begin for Undergraduate Students and for Graduate courses in Education, Summer Session

Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester
July 1, 2004, Thursday Memorial Day holiday. No lectures
July 5, 2004, Monda End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Summer Session

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session
July 8, 2004, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session
July 12, 2004, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer Session courses dropped after this date
July 15, 2004, Thursday


Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Fall Convocation 2004.  Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
July 22, 2004, Thursday Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
July 30, 2004, Friday Lectures end for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
August 6, 2004, Friday     Lectures end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 7, 2004, Saturday     Lectures end, Summer Session

Lectures will follow the Thursday schedule for Summer Session courses
August 9, 2004, Monday     Examinations begin, 14-week Spring Semester and Summer Session courses

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students
August 11, 2004, Wednesday
Examinations end, Summer Session
August 14, 2004, Saturday Examinations end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 20, 2004, Friday     Spring Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions end for Third-year Clerkship Medical Students


Last modified on June 4, 2003 by R. Bruce

Up to Calendar Table of Contents

Back to Office of the Registrar's Home Page