GENERAL INFORMATION

UNIVERSITY DIARY FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2002-2003

June 3, 2002, Monday Registration begins for Interns/Residents and for Undergraduate Medical Students
July 22, 2002, Monday Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Fall Semester 2002
August 1, 2002, Thursday Deadline for registration and fees payment for Interns/Residents
August 12, 2002, Monday Registration begins for Graduate Students, Fall Semester, 2002
August 26, 2002, Monday Fall Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship and Third-year Clerkship Medical Students

September 1, 2002, Sunday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Winter Semester 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information

Deadline for registration for Undergraduate Medical Students

September 2, 2002, Monday Labour Day. No lectures
September 3 & 4, 2002
Tuesday & Wednesday
Orientation for all new first semester students
September 4, 2002, Wednesday Fall Internship begins for Education Students
September 5, 2002, Thursday Lectures begin, Fall Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Fall Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Undergraduate Medical Students, Fall Semester

September 10, 2002, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
September 12, 2002, Thursday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Spring Semester (Intersession, Summer Session and 14-week) 2002
September 19, 2002, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Fall Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

September 26, 2002, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall Semester

October 1, 2002, Tuesday Final date for filing applications for undergraduate admission/re-admission to Winter Semester 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
October 3, 2002, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
October 8 , 2002, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
October 14, 2002, Monday Thanksgiving Day. No lectures
October 18, 2002, Friday Annual Fall Convocation
October 24, 2002, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate Students and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall Semester
November 8, 2002, Friday No lectures for Pre-clerkship Medical Students
November 11, 2002, Monday Remembrance Day. No lectures.

Fall Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

November 12, 2002, Tuesday Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Winter Semester 2003

Regular Meeting of the Senate

Lectures resume for Pre-clerkship Medical Students

November 14, 2002, Thursday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
November 15, 2002, Friday Classes will follow the Monday timetable on this day only
December 2, 2002, Monday Registration begins for Graduate Students, Winter Semester 2003
December 4, 2002, Wednesday Lectures end, Fall Semester
December 6, 2002, Friday Fall Internship ends for Education Students
December 9, 2002, Monday Examinations begin, Fall Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

December 10, 2002, Tuesday Regular meeting of the Senate
December 11, 2002, Wednesday Last day of lectures for students in the B.Ed. (Intermediate / Secondary) and B. Ed. (Intermediate/Secondary) conjoint with Diploma in Technology Education programs
December 13, 2002, Friday Sessions end for Pre-clerkship and Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students
December 18, 2002. Wednesday Examinations end, Fall Semester
December 20, 2002, Friday Fall Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students
December 22, 2002, Sunday Sessions end for Third-year Clerkship Medical Students
January 1, 2003, Wednesday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Spring Semester 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
January 6, 2003, Monday Winter Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship and Third-year Clerkship Medical Students

Winter Internship begins for Education Students

January 8, 2003, Wednesday Orientation for new first semester students
January 9, 2003, Thursday Lectures begin, Winter Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Winter Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Undergraduate Medical Students, Winter Semester

January 14, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
January 15, 2003, Wednesday Final date for filing with the Registrar application for Degrees and Diplomas for the Spring Convocation 2003.  Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
January 16, 2003, Thursday Final date for receipt by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate courses, Fall Semester, 2002

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 2003. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

January 23, 2003, Thursday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Winter Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

January 27, 2003, Monday Sessions resume for Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students
January 30, 2003, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter Semester

February 1, 2003, Saturday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Spring Semester (14-week, Intersession and Summer Session) 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit.
February 6, 2003, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter Semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date
February 11, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
February 24, 2003, Monday Winter Semester Break begins at St. John's Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College
February 27, 2003, Thursday Lectures resume at St. John's Campus and Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter Semester

March 1, 2003, Saturday Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Fall Semester 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
March 11, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
March 28, 2003, Friday Sessions end for Spring break for Pre-clerkship Medical Students
April 7, 2003, Monday Registration begins for eligible students registering in Undergraduate courses, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2003

Sessions begin for Pre-clerkship Medical Students

April 8, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
April 9, 2003, Wednesday Lectures end, Winter Semester
April 11, 2003, Friday Winter Internship ends for Education Students
April 14, 2003, Monday Examinations begin, Winter Semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

April 18, 2003, Friday Good Friday. No lectures or examinations
April 21 & 22, 2003
Monday and Tuesday
Health and Occupational Safety Seminar for Term 2 Engineering Students
April 24, 2003, Thursday Examinations end, Winter Semester

Registration begins for Graduate Students, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session 2003

April 25, 2003, Friday Winter Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students

Sessions end for Fourth-year Clerkship Medical Students

April 28, 2003, Monday Spring Work Term begins for Co-operative Education Students except Work Term I Engineering Students
May 1, 2003, Thursday Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Fall Semester 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information
May 5, 2003, Monday Lectures begin for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7

Spring Work Term begins for Work Term I Engineering Students

May 9, 2003, Friday Annual Spring Convocation, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College session
May 12, 2003, Monday Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring Semester

Deadline for fees payment, Spring Semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session)

May 13, 2003, Tuesday Regular Meeting of the Senate
May 19, 2003, Monday Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in Undergraduate and Graduate Courses, Winter Semester 2003

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Intersession

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 22, 2003, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession
May 26, 2003, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester

Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date

May 28, 29, & 30, 2003
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Annual Spring Convocation
June 2, 2003, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester.

Final date for Graduate Students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester.

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring liability for tuition fees, Spring Semester.

June 5, 2003, Thursday Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession
June 9, 2003, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring Semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring Semester courses dropped after this date
June 20, 2003, Friday Lectures end, Intersession
June 23, 2003, Monday Examinations begin, Intersession

Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring Semester

June 25, 2003, Wednesday Examinations end, Intersession
June 26, 2003, Thursday Lectures resume, 14-week Spring Semester
June 27, 2003, Friday Sessions end for Pre-clerkship Medical Students

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 2003. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

June 30, 2003, Monday Lectures begin for Undergraduate Students and for Graduate courses in Education, Summer Session

Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring Semester

July 1, 2003, Tuesday Memorial Day holiday. No lectures
July 7, 2003, Monday End of Regular Registration Period and last day for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to add courses, Summer Session

Last day for Undergraduate Students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session

July 10, 2003, Thursday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session
July 14, 2003, Monday Last day for Undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer Session courses dropped after this date
July 15, 2003, Tuesday Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Fall Convocation 2003. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit
July 24, 2003, Thursday Final date for Undergraduate and Graduate Students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session
August 1, 2003, Friday Lectures end for Engineering students in Academic Terms 4 and 7
August 7, 2003, Thursday Lectures will follow the Tuesday schedule for Summer Session and 14-week Spring Semester courses
August 8, 2003, Friday Lectures end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 9, 2003, Saturday Lectures end, Summer Session; lectures will follow the Thursday schedule
August 11, 2003, Monday Examinations begin, 14-week Spring Semester and Summer Session

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education Students

August 13, 2003, Wednesday Examinations end, Summer Session
August 16, 2003, Saturday Examinations end, 14-week Spring Semester
August 22, 2003, Friday Spring Work Term ends for Co-operative Education Students
August 25, 2003, Monday Sessions end for Pre-clerkship and Third-year Clerkship Medical Students

Last modified on January 22, 2003 by MaryJane Puxley

Up to Calendar Table of Contents

Back to Registrar's Office Home Page