

Board of Regents MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND

BOARD OF REGENTS

A meeting of the Board of Regents was called at the direction of the Chair on 7 November 2001.

1.APPOINTMENTS TO MURC

The purpose of the meeting was to request concurrence, or otherwise, with a motion outlining suggested appointees to the Board of Directors of the Memorial University Recreation Complex.

A note from the Chair along with background information relative to the suggested appointees was circulated to all Regents either by electronic mail or by fax. The Chair stated that the four Directors who will hold office for one year were nominated by the student organizations: Ms. Vernescu by the Graduate Students' Union and the other three by Memorial University of Newfoundland Students' Union. He also noted that the St. John's City Council has been requested to nominate one member of the Board (who will be appointed for a term of two years). The name of a potential appointee will be brought forward at the 6 December 2001 Board meeting.

The following Regents responded:

Edward Roberts, Chair John Crosbie, Chancellor Dr. Axel Meisen, President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Evan Simpson, Vice President (Academic) and Pro Vice-Chancellor Alick Andrews Gail Aylward

Hayward Blake

Lisa Browne

Peter Barnes

Calvin Butt

Sam Chaulk

Chris Decker

Fred Durant
Sharon Duggan
Dorothy George
Dr. Georgina Hedges
Ed Kelly
Nancy Kelly
Brendan Lewis
Brendan Paddick
Larry Peckford
Joan Pinsent
Darlene Russell
Harvey Short
Susan Wood

The following resolution was passed:

RESOLVED:

THAT the individual men and women whose names are set out hereinafter be appointed Directors of the Memorial University Recreation Complex Inc. with effect from current date with each to hold office for the term set opposite her or his name:

For a Term of 3 Years

- Dr. Colin Higgs
- Gail Roberts
- Rob Shea
- Bill Thistle
- Lisa Underhay

For a Term of 2 Years

- Mike Donovan
- Dr. Bas Kavanagh
- Dr. Penny Moody-Corbett
- Peter Morris

For a Term of 1 Year

- Joby Fleming
- Melissa Ivany
- Kirk Wiseman
- Roxanna Vernescu

And that Mr. Thistle be appointed Chair of the Board.