

Board of Regents MEMORIAL UNIVERSITY OF NEWFOUNDLAND

BOARD OF REGENTS

A special meeting of the Board of Regents was held on Friday, 27 April 2001 in the Board Room of the University at 2:00 p.m.

PRESENT:

Edward Roberts Chair

John Crosbie, Chancellor (by teleconference)

Dr. Axel Meisen, President and Vice-Chancellor

Gail Aylward

Peter Barnes

Calvin Butt (by teleconference)

Dr. Georgina Hedges (by teleconference)

Ed Kelly (by teleconference)

Nancy Kelly (by teleconference)

Brendan Paddick

Joan Pinsent (by teleconference)

Kathryn Small (by teleconference)

Elizabeth Hillman, Acting Secretary

APOLOGIES: Alick Andrews, Hayward Blake, Lisa Browne, Samuel Chaulk, Chris Decker (who indicated in advance his support of the recommendation), Sharon Duggan, Fred Durant, Dorothy George, Dr. Brendan Lewis, Larry Peckford, Darlene Russell, Harvey Short, Lorelei Stanley-Newton, and Susan Wood.

The Chair noted a quorum was present and declared the meeting to be properly constituted.

1. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR OF ALUMNI AFFAIRS AND DEVELOPMENT</u>

The Chair reported that the Search Committee for the Director of Alumni Affairs and Development had made a recommendation. He asked the President, as Chair of the Search Committee, to present the Committee's report.

After discussion, the following resolution was passed:

RESOLVED:

That the Board of Regents, having considered the report of the Search Committee and upon the recommendation of the President, appoints John Kearsey as Director of Alumni Affairs and Development.

2. HARLOW CAMPUS

The Chair noted that major changes are being contemplated for the Harlow Campus, and that a presentation will be made at the Board's 29 May meeting. The Chair, the President, and the Chair of the Finance Committee attended a meeting of the Harlow Campus Trust on 12 April. He suggested that the Board would be better able to consider the recommended changes if more of its members had first hand knowledge of Harlow. He and Dr. Meisen had asked a representative group of Regents to visit the Campus in advance of the 29 May discussion. Ms. Aylward, Mr. Blake, Dr. Hedges, Mr. Kelly, Dr. Lewis and Mr. Peckford had agreed to travel to Harlow on Friday, 11 May returning on Tuesday, 15 May. Dr. Simpson, Harlow Director Ms. Karen Cracknell, and Harlow Trust Chair, Dr. Alan Perry, will facilitate the visit.

The Chair thanked those who were able to participate in the meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.