Please Enter a Search Term

Welcome to Political Science at Memorial

Memorial's Department of Political Science has research strengths in public policy; European and international politics; and elections, campaigns and voting, particularly in Canada. The quality of our research and teaching is reflected in our programs and our students' successes.

Students who work towards a B.A. Honours or Major have the option of concentrating in Canadian Government or in Global Studies. They can also gain job experience in a work internship, pursue a Co-op degree, or spend a semester in Europe.

Graduate students can complete a research or internship focused Master's degree. Our M.A. program prepares students for both academic and professional careers. It attracts students from universities across Canada, including the universities of Victoria, Alberta, Manitoba, Western Ontario, Brock, Toronto, Laurier, Ottawa, Carleton, Concordia and all of the universities in Atlantic Canada. We have also admitted dozens of students from other parts of the world.

While many of our students go on to professional positions in the civil service, our undergraduate and graduate students regularly receive admission to leading MA and PhD programs with generous funding packages. In fact, over the last four years, 12 students from our department have been awarded prestigious Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) fellowships.

(Information on this site pertains primarily to Political Science at our St. John's campus. See also Grenfell Campus information.)

Memorial University’s Dr. Alex Marland has won the 2016-17 Donner Prize.

The Donner Prize is a prestigious national award that encourages and celebrates excellence in public policy writing by Canadians and has a value of $50,000. An associate professor of political science and associate dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Dr. Marland’s Brand Command: Canadian Politics and Democracy in the Age of Message Control, was announced at a gala awards dinner in Toronto, Ont., on May 15.

Read Article.