Department of Philosophy

Cloud Callout: ???Memorial University

WINTER COLLOQUIUM, 2006, revised schedule

“MIND”

 

All lectures will take place on Tuesday or Thursday, 2.00-3:30  in C2033. (For further information email - jbradley@mun.ca or ring the Department at 737-8336)

 

DATE

SPEAKER

Tuesday, Jan 17:

David Thompson, A Brief History of Mind

 

Tuesday, Jan 24:

 

Suma Rajiva, Leibniz's Theory of Mind: A Problem of Self-Possession

Tuesday, Jan 31:

James Bradley, Mind as Order in Speculative Metaphysics: Beyond  ‘Philosophies of Mind’ & ‘Cog. Sci.’

 

Tuesday, Feb. 7:

Bernie Wills, Pascal, Cusanus, Pico and the Dyadic Nature of Mind

 

Tuesday, Feb 14:

Ed Brown & Manrique Montero (Computer Science) Limitations on Mind as Computation

 

THURSDAY, Feb 16:

Peter Trnka, Minding the Gap: Social Distinction, Struggle, Personhood

 

 

 

Tuesday, Feb. 28:

Walter Okshevsky, The Philosophy of the Subject vs. Communicative Intersubjectivity

 

THURSDAY, MARCH 2:

Gregory MacIsaac (Carleton & Ecole Practiques des Hautes Etudes), Sensation and Thought in Plato, Plotinus and Proclus

 

 

 

THURSDAY, MARCH 9:

David Scott (University of Victoria), Cartesian Subjectivity  Reconsidered

 

Tuesday, March 14:

Darren Hynes, The Anthropocentric Character of Modern Thought, Or, Why Isn't the Mind-Body Problem Ancient?

 

 

 

Tuesday, March 21:

Arthur Sullivan, Individualism vs. Externalism about Mental Content

 

THURSDAY, MARCH 23:

Bill McKim (Psychology), There is No Free Will—Live With It

 

Tuesday, March 28:

Natalie Oman, Judgment and the Sensus Communis

 

 

 

Tuesday, April 4:

Seamus O'Neill, Porphyry’s Nous Mysticism and Augustine’s Confessions