The Newfoundland and Labrador Health Research Network

Current Steering Committee Members

Dr. Detlef Bieger is Professor of Pharmacology in the Faculty of Medicine. His research is in the area of neuronal control of upper alimentary tract functions, i.e., swallowing and peristalsis. Dr. Bieger's research is funded by the Medical Research Council of Canada. He has served on MRC grant review panels.

Sister Elizabeth Davis is the President and CEO of the Health Care Corporation of St. John's (HCCSJ). This new organization has made a commitment to research to help it move toward evidence-based practice, both clinical and organizational.

Dr. John Harnett is the Chair of Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine. His is involved in cardiovascular and renal research and has been funded by the Kidney Foundation of Canada. He has also served as a grant reviewer for the Arthritis Society.

Dr. Ed Hunt is Medical Consultant with the Department of Health and part-time general practitioner in Clarenville. He is a former President of the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association.

Dr. Kevin Keough is co-chair of the steering committee. He is Vice President of Research at the university and has considerable experience at the executive level with MRC and various national research boards. He has been funded in basic biomedical research by MRC, NIH, Heart and Stroke Foundation, and the Newfoundland Lung Association.

Dr. Chris Loomis is Director in the School of Pharmacy and a professor of pharmacology. He is the former MRC Regional Director and former chair and scientific officer of the MRC Pharmaceutical Sciences Committee. He has received MRC funding for many years.

Dr Doug May teaches Applied Welfare Economics (Cost Benefit Analysis) and reading courses in Health Economics. He is a member of the QRT project team and has conducted research on income security programs and public finance.

Dr. Carole Orchard is the Director of the School of Nursing.

Dr. John Peddle is the Executive Director for the Health Care Association.

Dr. Jorge Segovia is a professor in Community Medicine. He is a faculty member of 4 universities in 4 different countries. He has been a grant reviewer for both NHRDP and SSHRC. He has been a medical officer of health in a rural area and head of a health centre in an urban area. His research has been funded by NHRDP.

Dr. Verna Skanes is co-chair of the steering committee. She is Assistant Dean of Research and Graduate Studies (Faculty of Medicine). Her research was supported by MRC and the Arthritis Society. She has served on grant committees for MRC.

Dr. Roy West is Associate Dean of Community Health.

Dr. Ban Younghusband is Associate Professor of Molecular Biology with an active research programme in genetic diseases. He has received funding from the RP Foundation, the Janeway Research Foundation and NCIC. He is currently chair of the Human Investigation Committee at Memorial University.

To send feedback or obtain more information on this site, please contact:

Ms. Pauline Cole
Research and Graduate Studies
Faculty of Medicine
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John's, NF
A1B 3V6

This page was last updated June 1999

Want to go back to the main page?