Back to History

Back to the 80's


Student Life

  • April 2, 1986
    Weightlifter Joy Burt, swimmer Marc Campbell and basketballer Diane Campbell are Memorial's top athletics for 1985-1986.
  • November 22, 1986
    Grace Sparkes receives the 1986 Alumnus of the Year Award from the Memorial University Alumni Association.


  • January 13, 1986
    Telemedicine Centre establishes a first in Canada's telecommunications history with a teleconference link between Canada and a Third World country for the purpose of health education and patient care. The Centre made a satellite link between the Health Sciences Centre in St. John's and the Department of Pedriatrics in Kenya, East Africa.
  • February 1986
    The Federal and Provincial Governments announce funding of over $25 million for the construction of a new building to house the Centre for Earth Resources Research (CERR), as well as $1 million for a Computer Aided Design (CAD) facility for the engineering faculty. The projects are approved under the Canada-Newfoundland Offshore Development Fund.
  • April 1986
    Dr. J.T. Brosnan, Department of Biochemistry, is the recipient of the 1986 Borden Award in Nutrition. The award is given annually by the Canadian Society for Nutritional Sciences to the individual under 45 years who has made the most outstanding contribution in nutrition during the preceeding five years.
  • April 1986
    Dr. Michael Rochester, Department of Earth Sciences, wins the Tuzo Wilson Medal from the Canadian Geophysical Union. The medal is the highest award made by the Union and annually recognizes a person who has made outstanding contributions to Canadian geophysics and geodesy.
  • April 1986
    Memorial's Office of Research establishes the Office of Technology Transfer. Funded with a two-year grant from the National Research Council, the Office's purpose is to provide a link between the University's interests and those of the private sector.
  • May 19, 1986
    Vice-President Dr. E.R. Neale is the first recipient of the J. Willis Ambrose Medal, awarded by the Geological Association of Canada in recognization of distinguished service to geoscience over a broad spectrum of activities including public and professional education, promotion, research and teaching, and in institutional, professional and society affairs.
  • June 1986
    Dr. Brian Fryer, earth sciences, is the 1986 winner of the Past President's Medal by the Geological Association of Canada.
  • June 1986
    President Harris announces that Dr. Jean Briggs, anthropology, and Dr. Michael Rochester, earth sciences and physics, have been named University Research Professors, a title reserved by Memorial for its most distinguished scholars. The 1986 winners of the President's Award for Outstanding Research are Dr. James Butrica, classics; Dr. William Davidson, biochemistry; Dr. Terry Goldie, English language and literature; Dr. Raymond Poirier, chemistry; and Dr. Hans Rollmann, religious studies.
  • September 1, 1986
    Dr. Ian Jacques Jordaan assumes his post as Chair in Industrial Research in Ocean Engineering, established with over $600,000 in funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada and Mobil Oil Canada Limited. It is the first chair of this kind to be established in Canada.
  • August 1986
    Dr. David Idler is the winner of the 1986 F.E.J. Fry Medal awarded by the Canadian Society of Zoologists. The medal is awarded to recipients for outstanding contributions to zoology in Canada.
  • September 30, 1986
    Memorial holds a special convocation to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada. The Association's annual general meeting is held in St. John's on October 1 and 2, 1986.
  • November 1986
    The two-volume Bibliography of Newfoundland, compiled by librarians Agnes O'Dea and Anne Alexander, is published by the University of Toronto Press for Memorial University.
  • December 9, 1986
    Senate approves a master of philosophy degree in the humanities.

History | The 80's | Photo Gallery