News Releases

REF NO.: 57

SUBJECT: Faculty of Business receives CMA accreditation
DATE: Nov. 9, 2007

The Society of Management Accountants of Canada has granted the Memorial bachelor of commerce (accounting) program with full accreditation until 2012. Memorial University is the only school in Atlantic Canada with CMA accreditation.
"The accreditation acknowledges the commitment of the Faculty of Business Administration to the development of the management accounting profession in Canada and strengthens CMA Canada's partnership with one of Canada's leading business schools,” said Steve Viewig, president and CEO of the Society of Management Accountants of Canada.
One of the benefits of accreditation is that Memorial graduates who have successfully completed the prescribed set of accounting courses are admitted to the Strategic Leadership Program of the CMA program without writing the written entrance exam.
Dr. Gary Gorman, dean of the Faculty of Business Administration, is pleased with the news. “This is an outstanding accomplishment for the faculty, and a great benefit to our students,” he explained. “The CMA accreditation is another indication of the quality education that we provide in the Faculty of Business Administration.”
This year, 13 Memorial alumni have completed the CMA program and will receive their CMA designation at the annual CMA convocation on Nov. 9. In recognition of outstanding performance in the Strategic Leadership Program the SLP Medal Achievement Awards will be given to Tara Lynn Dumaresque, and Amanda Power (Gold), Harman Khurana (Silver) and Mark Stowe (Bronze). Angelina Hayes, a Memorial graduate, won the SLP Gold Medal for New Brunswick, where she completed the program.
Two other MUN alumni, Heather Moores and Jesse Devilla, will receive the Fellow CMA. This prestigious national honourary designation is awarded in recognition of demonstrated excellence, commitment to CMA Canada, and civic mindedness. 
List of Memorial alumni receiving the CMA designation
Chad Antle
Tracey Aylward
Jennifer Bragg
Richard Brett
Tara Lynn Dumaresque
Angelina Hayes
Scott Jones
Harman Khurana
Adam Lippa
Amanda Power
Andrea Stapleton
Bonnie Steele
Mark Stowe

- 30 -