Faculty

Our people are what makes our department special. We are at the forefront of our respective research fields. We teach the history we study and write about. We work alongside our students. And we are part of the local community, bringing history to the people of Newfoundland and Labrador. See who we are and what we do


Terry Bishop-Stirling

Associate Professor 

Office: A-4008
Telephone: (709) 864-7653
Email: tstirlin@mun.ca

Research Interests: Newfoundland and Labrador history; Social history; Women's history. More Info


Edita Bosák

Associate Professor

Office: A-4012
Telephone: (709) 864-8432
Email: ebosak@mun.ca

Research Interests: Central and Eastern European history; Nationalism; Political history. More Info


Dominique Brégent-Heald

Associate Professor

Office: A-4013
Telephone: (709) 864-8430
Email: dbheald@mun.ca

Research Interests: U.S. film history; North American borders, borderlands and frontiers; Comparative history of the North American West; U.S. culture history and popular culture; U.S.-Canadian relations; tourism. More Info


Valerie Burton

Professor

Office: HH-1006
Telephone: (709) 864-8433
Email: vburton@mun.ca

Research Interests: British, European and Atlantic history; Ports, merchant shipping and seafaring; Gender history; Labour history; Digital pedagogies. More Info


Sean Cadigan

Professor

Office: HH-1021A
Telephone: (709) 864-4898
Email: scadigan@mun.ca

Research Interests: Newfoundland and Labrador history; Atlantic Canadian history; Social and ecological history. More Info


Marica Cassis

Associate Professor and Head

Office: A-4008
Telephone: (709) 864-7650
Email: mcassis@mun.ca

Research Interests: Byzantine and Syriac Christian history and archaeology; Early Islamic history; Early Islamic-Christian interaction; Ancient Near Eastern history and archaeology. More Info


Stephan Curtis

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Liaison


Office: A-4009
Telephone: (709) 864-8439
Email: stephanc@mun.ca

Research Interests: Modern European social history; History of medicine; Child and maternal mortality; Diffusions and dissemination of medical knowledge; Swedish history. More Info


Justin Fantauzzo

Assistant Professor

Office: A-4007
Telephone: (709) 864-2128
Email: jfantauzzo@mun.ca

Research Interests: First World War; War and Society; Military History; The British Empire at War; Wartime Cultural Encounters; Modern Middle East. More Info


Neil Kennedy

Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator


Office: HH-1004
Telephone: (709) 864-8968
Email: nkennedy@mun.ca

Research Interests: 17th century Bermuda and the Caribbean; Atlantic island ecologies; Plantation societies/archaeology; Slavery and Emancipation; Early Modern Americas; Sensory history. More Info


Michael D. Kirkpatrick

 

Assistant Professor

Office: A-4002
Telephone: (709) 864-6109
Email: michael.kirkpatrick@mun.ca

Research Interests: 19th and 20th century Guatemala and Latin America; urban history; modernity; consumer culture; capitalism More Info


Kurt Korneski

 

Associate Professor

Office: HH-1005
Telephone: (709) 864-3091
Email: kkornesk@mun.ca

Research Interests: Canadian history; Colonialism; Transnationalism; Migration. More Info


R.K. (Ranee) Panjabi

 

Professor

Office: A-4015
Telephone: (709) 864-2969
Email: rpanjabi@mun.ca

Research Interests: Human rights and globalization; terrorism; espionage; ancient Egypt and ancient Asia. More Info


Sébastien Rossignol

Assistant Professor

Office: A-4003
Telephone: (709) 864-2602
Email: srossignol@mun.ca

Research Interests: Medieval European history; pragmatic literacy; urban history; intercultural contacts in Central Europe. More Info


Heather Stanley

 

Assistant Professor

Office: A-4001
Telephone: (709) 864-3426
Email: hstanley@mun.ca

Research Interests: Canadian History; Gender and Sexuality History; History of the Body; History of Medicine. More Info


John Sandlos

Professor

Office: A-1022
Telephone: (709) 864-2429
Email: jsandlos@mun.ca

Research Interests: Environmental history; Canadian history; The Canadian North; Aboriginal people and conservation; History of wildlife management and national parks; Mining in Northern Canada; Envrionmental aesthetics and ideas. More Info


Robert Sweeny

Professor

Office: HH-1007
Telephone: (709) 864-8440
Email: rsweeny@mun.ca

Research Interests: Canada/Quebec: Industrialism; Theory and method; History of capitalism. More Info


Jeff Webb

Professor

Office: A-4014
Telephone: (709) 864-2125
Email: Jeff.Webb@mun.ca

Research Interests: History of Newfoundland and Labrador; History of Mass Media; History of Atlantic Canada. More Info


Cross-Appointed Faculty

James (Jim) Connor
John Clinch Professor of Medical Humanities and History of Medicine
Faculty of Medicine
Email: jconnor@mun.ca
Phone: (709) 864-3340

Jennifer Connor
Professor
Faculty of Medicine
Email: jennifer.connor@med.mun.ca
Phone: (709) 864-3336


 

Professors Emeritus

Gerhard P. Bassler
Email: gbassler@mun.ca
Office: A-1022
Phone: 709-864-8435

James (Jim) K. Hiller
Honorary Research Professor and University Research Professor
Email: jhiller@mun.ca
Office: A-1021A
Phone: 709-864-8435


Honorary Research Professors

Christopher English
Email: cenglish@mun.ca

Lewis Fischer
Email: lfischer@mun.ca
Office: A-1019
Phone: (709) 864-8435

Christopher Youé
Email: cyoue@mun.ca
Office: A-1019
Phone: (709) 864-8112


 

Historians at Grenfell Campus, Memorial University, Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Rainer Baehre
Associate Professor
Email: rbaehre@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332J
Phone: (709) 637-6278

Edwin Bezzina
Associate Professor and Program Chair
Email: ebezzina@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS322T
Phone: (709) 637-2191

Olaf Janzen
Professor
Email: olaf@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332F
Phone: (709) 637-6282

Carol King (affiliated)
Associate Professor
Email: cking@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332C
Phone: (709) 639-6563 

Contact

Department of History

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552

becomestudent@mun.ca