Please Enter a Search Term

Faculty

Our Faculty

Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field that is developed through education, research, teaching and other experience. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of History at Memorial University.


 
  Name     Research Interests
Terry Bishop-Stirling - Department of History, Memorial University

Terry Bishop-Stirling
Assistant Professor & Head

Email: tstirlin@mun.ca
Office: A-4019
Phone: 709-864-8420

      
  • Newfoundland and Labrador history
  • Social history
  • Women's history
Edita Bosak - Department of History, Memorial University

Edita Bosák
Associate Professor 

Email: ebosak@mun.ca
Office: A-4012
Phone: 709-864-8432

 
  • Central and Eastern European history 
  • Nationalism
  • Political history
 Dominique Brégent-Heald - Department of History, Memorial Univerity

Dominique Brégent-Heald
Associate Professor

Email: dbheald@mun.ca
Office: A-4013
Phone: 709-864-8430

 
  • U.S. film history 
  • North American borders, borderlands and frontiers 
  • Comparitive history of the North American West
  • U.S. cultural history and popular culture
  • U.S.-Canadian relations
  • Tourism
 Valerie Burton - Department of History, Memorial University

Valerie Burton
Professor

Email: vburton@mun.ca
Office: HH-1006
Phone: 709-864-8433

 
  • British, European and Atlantic history
  • Ports, merchant shipping and seafaring
  • Gender history;
  • Labour history
  • Digital Pedagogies
 Sean Cadigan - Department of History, Memorial University

Sean Cadigan
Professor

Email: scadigan@mun.ca
Office: HH-1021A
Phone: 709-864-4898

 
  • Newfoundland and Labrador history
  • Atlantic Canadian history
  • Social and ecological history
 Marica Cassis - Department of History, Memorial University

Marica Cassis
Assistant Professor

Email: mcassis@mun.ca
Office: A-4007
Phone: 709-864-7650

 
  • Byzantine and Syriac Christian history and archaeology
  • Islamic history 
  • Islamic-Christian interaction 
  • Ancient Near Eastern history and archaeology
 

Jennifer Connor
Professor
Cross appointed with Faculty of Medicine


Email: jennifer.connor@med.mun.ca
Office: HSC 2766A
Phone: 709-777-7101

 
  • Book and publishing history
  • History of North American Medicine
 James Connor, Department of History, Memorial University

James (Jim) Connor
John Clinch Professor of
Medical Humanities and
History of Medicine

Email: jconnor@mun.ca
Office: HSC 1629
Phone: 864-777-8729

 
  • History of medical institutions
  • Medical technology history
  • History of rural health in Newfoundland and Labrador
Stephan Curtis - Department of History, Memorial University

Stephan Curtis
Associate Professor

Email: stephanc@mun.ca
Office: A-4009
Phone: 709-864-8439

 
  • Modern European social history
  • History of medicine
  • Child and maternal mortality 
  • Diffusions and dissemination of medical knowledge
  • Swedish history
 Lewis (Skip) Fischer - Department of History, Memorial University

Lewis (Skip) Fischer
Professor

Email: lfischer@mun.ca
Office: HH-1004
Phone: 709-864-8424

 
  • U.S. history
  • Maritime history
  • Economic history
 Neil Kennedy - Department of History, Memorial University

Neil Kennedy
Assistant Professor

Email: nkennedy@mun.ca
Office: A-4076
Phone: 709-864-8968

 
  • 17th century Bermuda and the Caribbean
  • Atlantic islands 
  • American colonial history
 

Kurt Korneski
Assistant Professor

Email: kkornesk@mun.ca
Office: A-4008
Phone: 709-864-3091

 
  • Canadian history
  • Colonialism 
  • Transnationalism
  • Migration
 Mike O'Brien - Department of History, Memorial University

Mike O'Brien
Assistant Professor

Email: mobrien@cs.mun.ca
Office: A-4074
Phone: 709-864-8685 

 
  • Canadian and Newfoundland military history
  R.K. (Ranee) Panjabi
Professor

Email: rpanjabi@mun.ca
Office: A-4015
Phone: 709-864-2969 
   
 Peter Pope - Department of History, Memorial University Peter Pope
Professor
Cross-appointed to Department of Archaeology

Email ppope@mun.ca
Office: QC-2007
Phone: 709-864-8311 
 
  • Historical archaeology of the early modern Atlantic world
 John Sandlos - Department of History, Memorial University John Sandlos
Associate Professor

Email: jsandlos@mun.ca
Office: A-4002
Phone: 709-864-2429 
 
  • Environmental history
  • Canadian history
  • The Canadian North
  • Aboriginal people and conservation
  • History of wildlife management and national parks
  • Mining in Northern Canada
  • Envrionmental aesthetics and ideas 
  Robert Sweeny
Professor

Email: rsweeny@mun.ca
Office: HH-1007
Phone: 709-864-8440 
 
  • Canada/Quebec: Industrialism
  • Theory and method
  • History of capitalism
Jeff Webb, Department of History, Memorial University Jeff Webb
Associate Professor

Email: Jeff.Webb@mun.ca
Office: A-4014
Phone: 709-864-2125 
 
  • History of Newfoundland and Labrador
  • History of Mass Media
  • History of Atlantic Canada
       

Professors Emeritus

Gerhard P. Bassler
Email: gbassler@mun.ca
Office: A-1022
Phone: 709-864-8436

Andy A. den Otter
Email: denotter@mun.ca
Office: A-1022
Phone: 709-864-8469

James (Jim) K. Hiller 
Honorary Research Professor and University Research Professor
Email: jhiller@mun.ca
Office: A-1021A
Phone: 709-864-8435 


Honorary Research Professors

Christopher English
Email: cenglish@mun.ca 

Shannon P. Ryan
Email: spryan@mun.ca
Office: A-4010
Phone: 709-864-8434

Christopher Youé
Email: cyoue@mun.ca
Office: HH-1005
Phone: 709-864-8112


Sessional Instructors

Patrick Mannion
Email: pmannion@mun.ca
Office: A-4001
Phone: 709-864-3426

Ariana Patey
Email: a.patey@mun.ca
Office: A-4006
Phone: 709-864-7524


Adjunct Professors 

Linda Kealey
Email: kealey@unb.ca 

Greg S. Kealey
Email: gkealey@unb.ca 


Historians at Grenfell Campus, Memorial University, Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Rainer Baehre
Associate Professor
Email: rbaehre@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332J
Phone: (709) 637-6278   

Edwin Bezzina
Assistant Professor
Email: ebezzina@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS322T
Phone: (709) 637-6200 ext 6152 

Olaf Janzen
Professor and Program Chair
Email: olaf@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332F
Phone: (709) 637-6282 

Carol King
Assistant Professor
Email: cking@grenfell.mun.ca
Office: AS332C
Phone: (709) 637-6200 ext 6437

Share