Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 40  No 6
November 22, 2007



In Brief

News & Notes


Out and About

Papers & Presentations


Student View

Next issue:
Dec. 13, 2007

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Exceptional faculty and staff recognized

Memorial University honoured the efforts of its best educators, researchers and staff members at a special ceremony Nov. 20 at the Fluvarium in St. John’s. Twelve Memorial employees were honoured at the reception – three for outstanding research; two for distinguished teaching, five for exemplary service, one for exceptional community service and one for receiving a national teaching award.

More information on the awards and the ceremony, including biographical notes on award recipients are available here

President’s Award for Outstanding Research

The President’s Award for Outstanding Research recognizes researchers who have made outstanding contributions to their scholarly disciplines. The award includes a $5,000 research grant.

Dr. Elizabeth Murphy

University Research Professor

University Research Professors have acquired a designation above the rank of professor. The title is the most prestigious award the university gives for research, and goes to faculty who have demonstrated a consistently high level of scholarship and whose research is of truly international stature.

The designation carries with it a $4,000 research grant each year for five years and a reduced teaching schedule.

Dr. Barbara Neis

Dr. Richard Rivkin
Ocean Sciences Centre

President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching

President’s Awards for Distinguished Teaching recognize the teaching excellence in the university community. Each winner of the teaching award receives a $5,000 grant contributed by the Memorial University Alumni Association.

Dr. Christopher Sharpe

Dr. Katherine Gallagher
Business Administration

President’s Award for Exceptional Community Service

The President’s Award for Exceptional Community Service is presented each year in recognition of employees (faculty or staff) who have demonstrated outstanding community service.

President’s Award for Exemplary Service

The President’s Award for Exemplary Service at Memorial University of Newfoundland is presented each year to recognize employee(s) who have demonstrated outstanding service and/or who have made significant contributions to the university community beyond that normally expected for their positions.

Greg Bennett
Computing & Communications

Gary Collins

Linda Kirby

Sonja Knutson
International Student Advising

Zita Murphy
Student Affairs and Services

Joan Oldford


Top Stories