Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 40  No 3
September 20, 2007



In Brief

New Faculty

News & Notes



Out and About

Papers & Presentations


Student View

Next issue:
Oct. 11, 2007

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Tribute to alumni
by Dawn Roche

Dr. Darryl Fry

Four outstanding alumni of Memorial will be recognized for their achievements at the 26th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards on Thursday, Oct. 25.

Retired businessman and active philanthropist Darryl Fry will receive the Alumni Association’s highest honour, the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Marlene Shehata, an outstanding pharmacist, will accept the Horizon Award. Community activist and social worker Jocelyn Greene will receive the Outstanding Community Service award, and Wayne Gulliver will accept the J. D. Eaton Award.

The Lifetime Achievement award recognizes an individual’s contribution to and distinction in their chosen professional fields. It honours individuals who inspire others by displaying exceptional human values. Dr. Fry (Dip.Eng.’59, B.Sc.’59, LLD’97) personifies this award: an outstanding engineer, an internationally-known business founder and manager, a model philanthropist, an effective leader, and a committed family man with strong social values.

The J. D. Eaton Alumni Award recognizes exceptional leadership and outstanding service to Memorial University. For Dr. Gulliver (B.Sc.’78, B.Med.Sc.’80, MD’82) this means giving back to a community that gave him so much. Even before graduating from Memorial’s Faculty of Medicine in 1982, he realized the importance of supporting physicians and researchers as well as new entrants to the medical field. His response was to get involved.

The Alumni Horizon Award honours young alumni who have realized extraordinary achievements before the age of 35. Egyptian-born Ms. Shehata (M.Sc.’04) has already celebrated many successes in her 28 years. She earned her first degree in Cairo, Egypt, moving to St. John’s in 2002 to attend Memorial under Dr. Alan Pater’s supervision. It was during her stint at Memorial that Ms. Shehata discovered a learning environment that was both leading edge and supportive.

The Alumni Award for Outstanding Community Service acknowledges individuals who have given freely of themselves in order to improve the lives of people and their communities. For Ms. Greene (BSW’75, MSW’99), this has found expression in her visionary work as one of this country’s leading social justice advocates. As the executive director of Stella Burry Community Services, Ms. Greene is widely acknowledged as a foremost leader in the development of programs and services for people who have been marginalized by life circumstances or illness. Creative and far-sighted strategies developed by Ms. Greene to enable individuals with mental health issues to become full participants in their communities have been widely cited across Canada.

Alumni Tribute Awards will be presented during a gala evening with emcee Krysta Rudofsky at the R. Gushue Hall in St. John’s. Major sponsors include Johnson Inc., Newfoundland Power, The Telegram, and Aliant/Xwave in conjunction with Memorial University. The gala includes a welcoming reception, a four-course dinner, musical entertainment, and the awards presentation.

As this event typically sells out, those interested in purchasing tickets should contact the office of Alumni Affairs and Development as soon as possible. Tickets are priced at $60 per person and are only available in advance. To purchase tickets, call 709-737-4354 or e-mail


Top Stories