Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 38  No 9
February 2, 2006



In Brief

News & Notes


Out and About


Student View

Next issue:
February 23, 2006

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Peddle re-elected president

New Alumni Association executive elects officers

Just one week after being elected as the new slate of board members for the Alumni Association of Memorial University, the group met on Thursday, Jan. 26, and elected their executive members.

The outgoing president Gary Peddle was re-elected by the incoming alumni association in a unanimous vote as the president for the next three years. He accepted the nomination and spoke briefly about plans for the coming three-year term, including an increase in alumni chapter activities, support for the development of a new strategic plan for alumni, and the importance of continuing to develop new services and benefits for alumni.

Nath Sheppard was elected as first vice-president and Tom Bursey was elected as second vice president. Peggy Miller is the new secretary. Mr. Sheppard was the committee chair who oversaw the revamping of the alumni constitution that was accepted at last week’s general meeting. The Alumni Association Constitution is also available online at

Those returning for a second three-year term include Andrea (Quinlan) Avery, B.Comm.’93, BA’00; Tom Bursey, B.Comm.’83, MBA’84, who serves as chair of the Ottawa Affinity dinner; Bill Day, B.Ed.’73, M.Ed.’89, from Clarenville; Ann Marie Hann, B.Comm.’81, MBA’83, chairperson of the alumni tribute awards; outgoing president Gary Peddle, B.Comm.’82, MBA’85; and Nath Sheppard, BA’74, B.Ed.’74, M.Ed.’81, who led the previous executive in the revision of the association’s constitution.

New members to the executive include Heidi Janes, B.Ed.’77, BA’77, M.Ed.’88; Jim Mason, MBA’91; and Darlene McCurdy, B.Sc.’81, from Corner Brook; Peggy Miller, B.Comm.’94; Lori Roul, BA’90, B.Ed.’90, from Labrador City; and Lloyd White, B.Ed.’67, BA’72, from Gander.

Outgoing members of the executive include the two vice- presidents: Linda Inkpen, B.Sc.’69, B.Ed.’70, B.Med.Sc.’72, MD’74 and Michael Goodridge, B.Comm.’87. Dr. Inkpen, a former alumna of the year, also chaired the alumni tribute awards. Mr. Goodridge will continue to serve as lead volunteer for the annual alumni golf tournament. Also outgoing are Hayward Blake, BA(Ed.)’78, M.Ed.’84, who has served multiple terms on the association; Earl Ludlow, B.Eng.80, MBA’94, who was recently elected by alumni to serve on the Board of Regents, Memorial’s governing body; and association past president for 1999-2002, Paul Wilson, BA’74, B.Ed.’74, M.Ed.’76.


Top Stories