Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 38  No 6
November 24, 2005




In Brief

News & Notes



Out and About

Papers & Presentations


Student View

Next issue:
December 15, 2005

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Outstanding faculty and staff recognized at Memorial

Memorial University honoured the efforts of its best educators, researchers and staff members at a special ceremony Nov. 15 at the Fluvarium in St. Johnís. Eleven Memorial employees were honoured at the reception ≠ three for outstanding research; two for distinguished teaching and five for exemplary service. Dr. Georg Gunther of Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in Corner Brook was also recognized for receiving the 3M Teaching Fellowship. For details on all the winners, see

Presidentís Award for Outstanding Research

The Presidentís Award for Outstanding Research recognizes researchers who have made outstanding contributions to their scholarly disciplines. Each award includes a $5,000 research grant.

Dr. Stephanie Curnoe
Physics and Physical Oceanography,
Faculty of Science

University Research Professor

University Research Professors have acquired a designation above the rank of professor. The title is the most prestigious award the university gives for research, and goes to faculty who have demonstrated a consistently high level of scholarship and whose research is of a truly international stature. The designation carries with it a $4,000 research grant (each year for five years) and a reduced teaching schedule.

Dr. Peter Pickup
Faculty of Science

Dr. William Montevecchi
Faculty of Science

Presidentís Award for Distinguished Teaching

Presidentís Awards for Distinguished Teaching recognize the teaching excellence in the university community. Each winner of the teaching award receives a $5,000 grant contributed by the Memorial University Alumni Association.

Dr. T. A. Loeffler
School of Human Kinetics and Recreation

Dr. Geoff Rayner-Canham
Chemistry, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

3M Teaching Fellowship

3-M Teaching Fellowships are presented by the Society of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education and prize sponsor 3-M. The award recognizes excellence in teaching over an extended period of time, principally at the undergraduate level, and also acknowledges leadership and commitment to the improvement of university teaching within the candidate's own institution.

Dr. Georg Gunther
Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

Presidentís Award for Exemplary Service

Rosalyn Blackwood
Housing Food and Conference Services,
Student Affairs and Services

Kelly Brown
Sir Wilfred Grenfell College

David Miller
CREAIT Network

Janet McHugh
Faculty of Medicine

Ruth North
Glenn Roy Blundon Centre for Students with Disabilities,
Student Affairs and Services.


Top Stories