Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 38  No 13
April 27, 2006



In Brief


News & Notes



Out and About

Papers & Presentations


Next issue:
May 18, 2006

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Top athletes net awards

By Jeff Green

Soccer player Gordon Ryan, wrestler Kerri-Ann Evely and swimmer Ainsley Decker were inducted into Memorialís Athletic Honour Society on April 6, the highest honour an athlete at Memorial can receive.

Some of the finest student athletes at Memorial University took home hardware Thursday, April 6, as the School of Human Kinetics and Recreation held its 46th annual Memorial Athletics Banquet.

Standout player Katherine Quackenbush netted two major awards, including the Edward P. Browne Trophy, which is presented annually to the outstanding male and female interuniversity basketball players.

During the 2005-06 season, Ms. Quackenbush led the Sea-Hawks in scoring, averaging 13.8 points per game. She was third in assists in the Atlantic University Sport (AUS), averaging 3.18 per game. In addition, Ms. Quackenbush was named the AUS Defensive Player of the Year.

At the awards ceremony, she also took home the Harold Squires Scholarship, an award which is presented annually to a student combining outstanding achievement in athletics and academics. While excelling in basketball, Ms. Quackenbush is completing a bachelor of kinesiology degree and is on the School of Human Kinetics and Recreation Directorís List.

Meanwhile, the male recipient of the Edward P. Browne Trophy was Justin Halleran for the third year in a row.

Mr. Halleran averaged 14 points a game, making him 12th in the AUS. He was also 10th in free throw percentage (75.3 per cent). Mr. Halleran heads into his final year of eligibility next year and is expected to dominate the courts once again.

Three graduating players were inducted into the Athletic Honour Society, which recognizes graduating students who have made an outstanding contribution to the athletic program at Memorial. Election to membership in the society is the highest athletic award that can be conferred on a student. This yearís inductees were Gordon Ryan (menís soccer), Kerri-Ann Evely (womenís wrestling), and Ainsley Decker (womenís swimming).

Soccer player Jessica Wade won the Graham Snow Memorial Award, which is presented annually to the student who, in any year, combines prowess in varsity athletics with high academic achievement. Ms. Wade was selected this year as an AUS first team all-star, as well as a 2005 academic all-Canadian for the fourth time since completing her science major in behavioural neuroscience. She is now working towards a French major. An active community volunteer, Ms. Wade regularly visits the Waterford Hospital and volunteers with the AIDS Committee of Newfoundland and Labrador. She is involved in the Sea-Hawk reading program and chairs the newly-formed Athletes Council at Memorial.

The Jubilee Cup is awarded annually for the most outstanding performance in distance running. This yearís recipient is Sharon Brophy who came out on top at the teamís first meet held at Saint Maryís University in Nova Scotia, and placed fifth at the AUS Invitational held at St. Francis Xavier University. She also had a solid performance at the AUS Championships, placing sixth, which was good enough to make her a first team AUS all-star. It also qualified her for the Canadian Interuniversity Sport championships, where she placed 21st with a time of 18:05 setting a personal best time by more than a minute.

Rookie Tim Rusted won the John Drinkwater Memorial Award, which goes to the most outstanding male or female varsity swimmer. Mr. Rusted finished the season undefeated in the 1,500 m freestyle event within the AUS Conference, winning gold at the AUS Championships. He was also a member of the menís 4 x 50 m relay team who set a new provincial record in the event at the Ontario Senior Championships.

Ms. Evely also took top honours in her sportís category. She had numerous match wins throughout the season and was invited to attend a camp to train with Team Canada in California in January.

Soccer MVP awards were given to Jon Kelly and Laura Breen, who both had stellar seasons again this year. Ms. Breen was once again named an AUS first team all-star and was also named a CIS second-team all-Canadian. Mr. Kelly has remained a consistent contributor to the team throughout his time at Memorial.


Top Stories