Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 37  No 17
July 21, 2005



In Brief

New Faculty




Out and About

Next issue:
August 11, 2005

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.


Dr. Elias Bartellas, clinical assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology, has received an Award of Excellence in Teaching from the national Association of Professors of Obstetrics and Gynecology (APOG). The award was presented June 22 to Dr. Bartellas by Dr. Donald Tennent, professor and chair of the Discipline of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Memorial. The award is given each year to one faculty member from each member department or member teaching institution who has demonstrated excellence in teaching, with emphasis on undergraduate medical education. APOG established this award in 1992 to recognize outstanding women’s health educators in obstetric/gynecologic medical education.

Dr. K. Brian Johnston, director, Housing, Food and Conference Services, was awarded the 2005 Atlantic Association of College and University Student Services Award of Merit. This is the highest honour AACUSS can bestow on its members. The award recognizes significant achievement and distinguished contribution to the development and promotion of Student Services in the Atlantic region and active long-standing participation in the Association.

Kirsten R. McDonald Barnes, a student in the Faculty of Medicine, is the recipient of a 2005 Medical School Achievement Award from the Endocrine Society in the U.S. for outstanding achievement in endocrinology. This award was given in recognition of work that she did under the supervision of Dr. Christopher Kovacs, Medicine, which culminated in a publication last year in the American Journal of Physiology.

Dr. Blair MacDuff, a fifth-year postgraduate resident in Diagnostic Radiology, has been awarded the 2005 RSNA Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award. This award is presented by the Research and Education Foundation of the Radiological Society of North America to recognize and encourage outstanding residents and fellows in radiologic research. Dr. MacDuff was nominated for this award for his significant contribution to the research activities of Memorial University’s Discipline of Radiology. Since commencing his radiology training he has worked on three research projects which were presented at local and international meetings. His most recent research entitled Digitizer Image Acceptance won the Boston Scientific Award for Best Resident Paper at the 2005 Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Radiologists Annual Scientific Meeting.

Dr. Sharon Taylor, Social Work, recently presented a paper titled Intimate Journeys: Examining narratives for meaning in the quest for personal and social transformation, at the Labrador Explorations Symposium sponsored by The Labrador Institute as part of the Mina Hubbard 100th anniversary celebrations.


Top Stories