Marketing & Communications
Frontpage Email Us
Search This Issue  
Vol 37  No 13
April 28, 2005




In Brief


Meet Memorial

News & Notes





Out and About

Student View

Next issue:
May 19, 2005

Questions? Comments?
E-mail our editor.

Dalton wins major writing award

Mary Dalton has again been recognized for her poetry. She was named winner of the E. J. Pratt Poetry Award for her book of poems Merrybegot during the Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards. The awards were sponsored by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Stan Dragland was announced as winner of the Rogers Cable Non-fiction Award for his book Apocrypha: Further Journeys.

The winners were announced on April 21 at Government House in St. John’s. Lieut.-Gov. Edward Roberts, Patron of the Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards, presented the winners with a cheque for $1,250.

Judges for the Rogers Cable Non-fiction Award were Marie Wadden, Marjorie Doyle and Russell Wangersky. Judges for the E.J. Pratt Poetry Award were John Steffler, Roberta Buchanan and Ed Kavanagh.

Mary Dalton teaches in the English department at Memorial University. She is also the author of The Time of Icicles (1989) and Allowing the Light (1994). She has received various awards for her poetry, among them the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Arts and Letters Award in 1997 and, in 1998, the inaugural TickleAce/Cabot Award.


Top Stories