gazette logo
   A Memorial University of Newfoundland Publication

mun logo   
March 31, 2005



Bruce Belbin, director of Student Success Programs, was selected as a member of the board of the Canadian Association of Colleges and University Student Services (CACUSS), for a two-year appointment effective June 2005.

Mary Dalton, English, and Professor Emeritus Alastair Macdonald have been shortlisted for the 2005 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards. The Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador has shortlisted Ms. Dalton’s book of poems Merrybegot and Mr. McDonald’s If More Winters, or this the Last for the E. J. Pratt Poetry Award. The winners will be announced April 21 at an awards presentation at Government House.

Drs. Jackie Elliott and Greg Rideout, Family Medicine residents, received the Chairman’s Award for their study on Delivery of Reproductive Health Services to Adolescents by Family Physicians in Newfoundland and Labrador, presented March 7 at Family Medicine Residents Research Day.

Dr. Bhavin Patel, Family Medicine resident, received the Research Director’s Award for his study entitled Slipping Through the Cracks? Suicides in Nain, presented March 7 at Family Medicine Residents Research Day.

Dr. David Schneider, associate dean (research) in the Faculty of Science and professor, Department of Biology, has been awarded the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools (NAGS) Teaching Award for 2004-05. The award recognizes excellence and creativity in the teaching of graduate students. Dr. Schneider will accept his award at the upcoming NAGS annual meeting award luncheon, Friday, April 8, in New Haven, Connecticut.

Rob Shea, director of Career Development and Experiential Learning, was selected as president-elect of the Canadian Association of Colleges and University Student Services (CACUSS). CACUSS represents the professional interests of 983 college and university student service professionals across Canada. His four year term of office will begin June 2005.

Dr. Peter Sinclair, Sociology, has been chosen by the Canadian Sociology and Anthropology Association for an Outstanding Contribution to Canadian Sociology Award. He will be presented with this award at the annual meetings of the Learned Societies at the University of Western Ontario March 31.

Angela Tate, a PhD student in Engineering, has been chosen by the Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada (SWAAC) to receive the SWAAC Graduate Student Award of Merit. The award was established “to recognize women who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their university and in the community while maintaining an exemplary academic record.” The SWAAC award consists of $1,000 and a plaque. Ms. Tate will receive the award at a gala dinner in Charlottetown in May.

Dr. Fereidoon Shahidi, University Research Professor, Department of Biochemistry, has been named the winner of the 2005 IFT (Institute of Food Technologists) Stephen S. Chang Award for Lipid/Flavour Science. This award recognizes significant contributions in the lipid area for outstanding fundamental research leading to applications in the food and nutritional product areas. The award consists of a Steuben Crystal Sculpture and a cheque for $3,000. Dr. Shahidi is the first Canadian ever to receive this award. Dr. Shahidi is also the recipient of IFT Fellow award that is a unique distinction conferred on an individual of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience for overall contributions in the field of food science and technology. These awards will be presented to Dr. Shahidi during the 2005 Annual Meeting of the IFT in New Orleans, Louisiana, in July 2005. IFT is the largest scientific organization in the field of food science and technology with over 25,000 members globally. Dr. Shahidi was the recipient of a Merit Award from IFT in 2004.